Carrot and Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Was surprisingly good. I used almond milk instead of heavy cream since I'm on a dairy free diet right now and coconut oil instead of olive oil. I also added some salt and pepper at the end. I could see this making a good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Love this recipe, made it several times!! Last time had no coriander so used a "curry" grinder of spices that had 21% coriander plus fennel & other spices. Worked well, just a bit more spicy than original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Delightful! Things I did differently: I roasted all of it in the oven together before putting it in a saucepan, because I had the oven on to roast other veggies too. I used soy milk because we can't do dairy. I bet it would be wonderful cold too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Good but very heavy - would be good in the winter, perhaps with some fresh mushrooms added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Very tasty. I used 4 large carrots thinly sliced instead of shredded. Large fennel bulb, minus the stalks and leaf-y things. For seasoning I used 1/4 tsp. coriander & fennel & turmeric, 1/2 tsp. seasoned salt & garam masala & garlic powder & chili flakes. Increased the cream to 1/2 cup as we like out dishes a little sauce-y. I would probably use fresh onion and garlic next time. This could use some pepper too. Not sure how I'd like this as a soup, but it tastes great as a side-dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Prepared just like the recipe and I'm getting ready to make it again for a pot luck. A bit different than the usual fare at a pot luck but I think everyone will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I don't like cooked carrots, but I enjoyed this. My husband, on the other hand, who loves cooked carrots, didn't like it at first, but it grew on him. I used coconut oil and coconut milk, and I even added some dried unsweetened coconut, and I simmered it covered for about 20 minutes to absorb all the liquid. I think this would be good with caramelized onions and topped with fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Lovely..... my girlfriend cooked this for me using coconut milk instead of cream as i have a dairy intolerence and it was gorgeous and tasty like her!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I just finished making this and it really is very delicious. I used fat free evaporated milk and it worked perfectly! I did add some salt and two tblsp. butter to add to the taste...lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
lovely soup. will eliminate the fresh coriandar next time as they seemed a little overpowering.but the toasted seeds were nice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Nwankwo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States