Carrot and Cranberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Chia seeds need to be soaked first before baking. These muffins came out just fine. First of all, I soaked my chia seeds in half cup applesauce to make the gel and used this gel instead of the butter called for. (soak for 5 minutes) No white sugar, just added half cup brown sugar only. Next time will try honey instead. Carrots and banana give it a moist texture but next time will try different ingredients. Great basic recipe for a healthy muffin. Love those chia seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Really, really good! My husband loved them, too. I used 3/4c honey instead of sugar, 1C applesauce instead of banana,1.5C of cranberries and ground them slightly in the food processor. I omitted the orange zest. I made two batches in one week they were so good! The first time I made 12 regular-sized muffins but had enough batter to also make 2 mini loaves. The second time it made 45 mini muffins. BEWARE- the batter is THICK. (like, want my husband to stir for me.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Had to make a few mods... just used whole wheat flour, used coconut oil instead of butter, only the 1/2 cup of brown sugar, used two little snack cups of unsweetened applesauce instead of the banana, and had to use grated apple instead of carrot - they turned out great! This is my new fav muffin recipe. And you can definitely play around with adding other stuff too like nuts or seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
These were delicious! I left out the chia seeds but didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Very tasty! I thought these would not be moist enough, but they're fine. I used spelt flour and honey as the sweetener. Great muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly except one tiny change. I used the pulp from juicing (carrot apple and orange) and it turned out incredibly delicious. Took them to work and everyone loved them. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirtland, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I used coconut oil instead of butter....Love these, and making my second batch now,,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Delish! Subbed out flax for chia and only did brown sugar, but other than that followed recipe exactly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I thought this was an OK muffin, but my husband loved it. I did add more milk per another users recommendation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
These are very dry and sweet. I had to mix the ingredients by hand, as the batter was insanely dry. The taste is good but if your batter seems way too dry try adding another banana or 1/2 cup greek yogurt or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States