Carrot and Cranberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Chia seeds need to be soaked first before baking. These muffins came out just fine. First of all, I soaked my chia seeds in half cup applesauce to make the gel and used this gel instead of the butter called for. (soak for 5 minutes) No white sugar, just added half cup brown sugar only. Next time will try honey instead. Carrots and banana give it a moist texture but next time will try different ingredients. Great basic recipe for a healthy muffin. Love those chia seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Really, really good! My husband loved them, too. I used 3/4c honey instead of sugar, 1C applesauce instead of banana,1.5C of cranberries and ground them slightly in the food processor. I omitted the orange zest. I made two batches in one week they were so good! The first time I made 12 regular-sized muffins but had enough batter to also make 2 mini loaves. The second time it made 45 mini muffins. BEWARE- the batter is THICK. (like, want my husband to stir for me.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Had to make a few mods... just used whole wheat flour, used coconut oil instead of butter, only the 1/2 cup of brown sugar, used two little snack cups of unsweetened applesauce instead of the banana, and had to use grated apple instead of carrot - they turned out great! This is my new fav muffin recipe. And you can definitely play around with adding other stuff too like nuts or seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
These were delicious! I left out the chia seeds but didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Very tasty! I thought these would not be moist enough, but they're fine. I used spelt flour and honey as the sweetener. Great muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Very forgiving recipe. Came out delicious in spite of the liberties I had to take due to the ingredients I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly except one tiny change. I used the pulp from juicing (carrot apple and orange) and it turned out incredibly delicious. Took them to work and everyone loved them. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirtland, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I used coconut oil instead of butter....Love these, and making my second batch now,,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
These were great! The only change I made wad to use splenda instead of the white sugar . Sweet enough and healthy-ish. My daughter asked me to make sure that she got one in her lunch every day :) AR doesn't say how much fiber each muffin has but I bet it would be a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I just made these muffins. I did add 1/2 cup additional shredded carrots. They are very moist And taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States