Carrot and Cranberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Very tasty! I thought these would not be moist enough, but they're fine. I used spelt flour and honey as the sweetener. Great muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Being really conscious of what I eat the ingredients looked good in this muffin recipe. I thought the batter was very thick & that the muffins would be very heavy. To my pleasant surprise they were not that heavy at all. I will make them again & play around with other ingredients. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Chia seeds need to be soaked first before baking. These muffins came out just fine. First of all, I soaked my chia seeds in half cup applesauce to make the gel and used this gel instead of the butter called for. (soak for 5 minutes) No white sugar, just added half cup brown sugar only. Next time will try honey instead. Carrots and banana give it a moist texture but next time will try different ingredients. Great basic recipe for a healthy muffin. Love those chia seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
These were delicious! I left out the chia seeds but didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Turned out great! I didn't bother soaking the chia seeds - I didn't read that review until after I had already added them to the dry ingredients - but they turned out wonderfully anyways! I used unsweetened applesauce instead of the white sugar and added a couple glugs of milk as the batter seemed really dry. Besides that I followed the recipe and my 2 and 4 year olds were gobbling them up! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Great recipe. The kids loved them. The batter is very thick, but it bakes up quite nicely. Didn't have any bananas so used applesauce instead, and also substituted ground flax seeds for chia seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Had to make a few mods... just used whole wheat flour, used coconut oil instead of butter, only the 1/2 cup of brown sugar, used two little snack cups of unsweetened applesauce instead of the banana, and had to use grated apple instead of carrot - they turned out great! This is my new fav muffin recipe. And you can definitely play around with adding other stuff too like nuts or seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I thought this was an OK muffin, but my husband loved it. I did add more milk per another users recommendation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made quite a few changes because I wanted a relatively healthy base recipe to add me pulp from juicing. So I used some orange, carrot, and ginger pulp instead of a banana. I used the juice as well, so I had to add some flour to compensate for the extra wetness. I boiled and sugared my cranberries. I know I have no right to leave a review with all the changes I made, but this really made a great, easily adaptable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaSpencer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very versatile! To cut saturated fat I replaced the butter with 1/4 c plus 2T of light olive oil. That reduces the saturated fat by more than 75 percent however does make them much more dense. I added just the brown sugar and eliminated the white adding 1T of honey. Didn't have chia seeds so I used poppy seeds and added chopped pecans. I will say they were good the day they were made but even better the next morning! If you are looking for a good breakfast to go with your morning coffee at work, this would work. Dense, filling, with lower sugar and saturated fat as I made them and lots of good natural vitamins with the carrots and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States