Carrie's Catfish Larue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I was looking for a way to make catfish that wouldn't taste too fishy- this was perfect! I baked mine so I wouldn't have to sautee anything. I had some leftover brown rice, cauliflower, and yellow squash- so I threw that in the bottom of a baking dish along with the other veggies, minced garlic instead of powder, salt & pepper, a touch of water, and baked it for 30 mins to soften them up a bit. Then I added the catfish topped with olive oil, s&p, lemon juice, and the canned tomatoes. I covered it with foil and baked it for another 25 or so mins. It was fabulous! I really dislike fish, but in this recipe I hardly noticed it! THanks for the inspiration!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I was looking for new catfish recipes in place of my usual sauté or broil it with Cajun seasoning, and this is easy and excellent! While eating my husband said, "You sure make good catfish!" I made it as your intro said, cooked the sauce separately and then broiled the catfish with just a bit of salt and pepper, thus eliminating the additional oil. I served it over brown rice and with broccoli. Yummy. I did add about a 1/3 tsp. of Cajun seasoning but only the heat came through so I'll just add a dash of a hot sauce next time. Didn't have carrot or tomato sauce and look forward to using them next time as I'm trying to have as many veggies at dinner as I can fit in, and then having smaller amounts of protein and carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This recipe was great!I actually had all the ingredients which almost never happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carriesteptoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I will make this again, but I plan to try different seasonings as it seemed to be lacking a little in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Thank you for this recipe! It was very good and even my husband, who typically doesn't love fish, said it was really good. I had to improvise with a few ingredients, didn't have a can of diced tomatoes, but had a fresh one so diced it; didn't have tomato sauce, so used a little spaghetti sauce; didn't have white wine, so used cream sherry. It turned out very good. I'm happy to have another way to make catfish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Husband loved it, I didn't enjoy it at all. Just like the author of the recipe says, it's only for those who don't care for the catfish overpowering flavor/smell. It's a good idea for something different, but I will stick with fried catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
A good alternative to fried catfish, but not as tasty as fried catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Great recipe! I'm a vegan but I cooked it for my family - used tilapia instead, and I didnt have tomato sauce, so I used a 28oz. can of diced tomatoes, and used half, then pureed the rest for a 'sauce'. I served it on top of mixed greens, which wilted gracefully for a healthy, low-fat and nutrient-filled dish! My eaters loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
It's great! My girls love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This recipe was a great idea! I added some minced fresh garlic to the sauce and a teaspoon of garlic powder. We love garlic! And it came out really good. We also used steaked catfish that we caught ourselves and grilled them! Then poured this sauce over it. All I can say is Yum! Delicious! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States