Carrie's Bruschetta Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
This was a great hit at my last cocktail party. However, Cosco's has the tomato, garlic and herb already combined in a jar. I did put the appetizer back in the oven for a few minutes just to let the mozzarella melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
This was delicious! In the interest of saving time, I did short-cut a few things. I used a can of petite diced tomatoes instead of the 4 fresh tomatoes. I also didn't heat them in the olive oil with the basil and garlic. Instead, let them marinate overnight with the olive oil (only 1 tablespoon), basil, garlic, and I added a splash of balsamic vinegar and some minced kalamata olives. Spread the feta/cream cheese mixture on the bread, then put it in the oven on the broiler setting for about 2 minutes. Add the tomato mixture with a sprinkle of mozzarella on top, then put back under the broiler for another 2-4 minutes (depending on how crisp you want the bread). This melted the cheeses perfectly! It was honestly like having an authentic mini italian pizza. We're thinking of trying pepperoni with it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
The recipe is great but I used a loaf of Italian bread instead and sliced it length wise and put the cheese on then baked it in the oven until the cheese was melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
My husband and I loved this recipe. The herb feta cheese made the recipe. Also, I used Roma tomatoes which added more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This is such a lovely appetizer! I MUST agree with Brenda MacLean (great last name, by the way. Ours is pronounced the same but we underline our "c") I've mentioned before that one of the clubs had an outrageous bottled brushetta (but I got bumped) and I'm sure we're talking about the same brand. It's not worth making your own when you can buy this. I also placed the toasts back in the oven to melt the mozarella. Thanks so much Carrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
This is a great recipe. It took a little while for me to make this, but it was totally worth the effort. I somehow did not have bread, so I used thinly sliced bagels. That's a perfect size, although not particularly dignified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
A wonderful appetizer, a big hit with my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
Excellent and easy. I used Italian bread sliced 1 inch thick and added about 4 oz chopped mushrooms. Definitely a 'Do Again' with me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I just made this recipe after consuming about a half bottle of wine! Needless to say, I needed something simple but delicious. I changed the recipe a bit to fit my tastes, but combining the cream cheese and feta was phenomenal! It made for a creamy and zesty spread. I sauteed 3 cloves of garlic and chopped 4 tablespoons of fresh basil, 1 chopped roma tomato and spread that on top. That is all it needed--cheese, tomato, fresh basil, and fresh garlic. I reduced the recipe for 1 (just me and my wine) and so only made 4 pieces of bruschetta. I also sliced an italian loaf of bread and broiled it on both sides. I drizzled a lil olive oil over the toasted bread for extra savory flavor. AMAZING! I would not recommend shortcutting to save time. This took me only 10 minutes and the fresh ingredients were well worth the prep. Now....back to the rest of that wine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
AWESOME! The feta cheese gives a nice compliment to the tomatoes. Great recipe Carrie, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Balsamic Bruschetta

See how to make a simple fresh tomato appetizer with a little balsamic kick.

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States