Carrie's Artichoke and Sun-Dried Tomato Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
It wasn't bad; it was edible but I will not make this again. I love all the ingredients in this recipe. I adore sun-dried tomatoes, artichokes, fresh tomatoes, and mushrooms. But together, they don't work. The artichokes impart a sour taste, and I think the sun-dried tomatoes are too intense, so the flavors clash. It's not bad, just kind of sour and bitter and bland at the same time. It reminds me of something you might throw together when you haven't planned dinner and you have all of the ingredients lying around, and it theoretically sounds really delicious, but in the end it doesn't really work. If you have no dinner planned and want something quick and you have the ingredients and no better options, you may wanna try this, but I wouldn't PLAN this as a dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Excellent. It was light but not bland at all. A great option for vegans or vegetarians as it's very hearty without any meat. I added some extra diced tomatoes and used rotini pasta -- I don't think the type of noodle would matter in this recipe. I prepped the sub-dried tomatoes, onions and olives is a food processor. Don't skip the white wine! It gives a savoryness to the dish that it would miss without it. Will DEFINITELY make again - it was so easy and yummy. Good job Carrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I liked it, but my kids didn't like the taste of sun-dried tomato too much... I might use it less and add some chicken the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starrynite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Very nice dish. Left out the olives and mushrooms(somebody dosn't like 'em)and added more garlic. Good flavors and i usually have ingredients on hand so i will be making again maybe with some left over rotissire chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sassyassyfrass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I'm a "recipe tweaker," but with the exception of swapping out bow tie pasta for fettuccine AND lightly sauteing the tomatoes along with rest of the dish there at the end, I've made this for two dinner parties and kept the recipe intact. It's marvelous --- flavorful, colorful, crowd-pleasing. And because it comes together fairly quickly, you don't have to spend your life in the kitchen and miss out on the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYMAGICWORD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
AWESOME! I have made this recipe over and over again and served it to friends as well. It's a big hit with everyone. The combined flavors make this dish to drool for and the colors make for a great presentation. I serve mine with chicken that I sautee in a pan with olive oil and a pat of butter, with a pinch of Thyme. I have yet to make it with dry white wine but sweet instead and I think it really brings out the flavors of all the other ingredients. Also, I use angel hair pasta instead which I find much lighter on the stomach than a heavier noodle...not to mention tasty. TRY IT! You won't be sorry. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Very good! Next time I will double the wine & butter, there wasnt nearly enough sauce. I would love to try it with seared scallops, too! Very easy, tasty pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Great dish, very tasty! Perfect for making for dinner and then also for eating leftovers, which grow more flavorful after a day. I omitted the mushrooms for my first try but I may add them back in next time. I also added shrimp which I think was a good choice, though I may give chicken a try too! If you keep the heat low enough on the pan when sauteing the first few ingredients you definitely don't need 4 tbsp of butter. I got by with closer to 1.5 - 2. Also saved some calories by adding my own amount of cheese by sight rather than the full cup that the recipe called for. I added a dash of liquid from the artichokes and from the olives as well. Finally, I didn't add the fresh tomatoes at the end and I think it was just fine. I'll definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoFarmsNoFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
We have tried this recipe with grilled chicken and with shrimp and it is excellent both ways! Another nice addition when doing it with chicken is chopped fresh avocado. We make this often for company and it is always met with rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States