Caron's Kickin' Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Great idea, Thank you! - It never occurred to me to mix Quinoa with Tuna. Also- make sure to rinse the Quinoa a few times before cooking to ensure there is no bitter taste. It has to do with a protective coating/residue called saponin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is a great recipe to play with. I changed out several ingredients, except for the tuna, quinoa, lemon juice and mayonnaise. I didn't have any wasabi powder so I added grape tomatoes, shredded apple and carrots. I didn't have celery either so I used some celery seed, which was tasty. Then the best addition, I chopped a small handful of walnuts and threw that in. It all tasted wonderful together! I find that quinoa is becoming a staple in my kitchen and this is one more recipe I will add to my list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Awesome, delicious, imaginative, different, flavorful...the list of adjectives goes on. This is truly a great tuna salad recipe. I cooked the quinoa traditionally, boiling vs. microwave. Because hubby and I like bold flavor, doubled the wasabi and upped the lemon a little. Absolutely incredible...makes me want to play with chicken salad with a dash of wasabi...etc. Many kudos and thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
HATE Wisabi...that aside this was an awsome idea. I added a few shakes or cayene pepper, doubled the onion and celery, added 1/2 c shredded carrot. Left the Mayo the same, but used the juice from a whole lemon from my tree (would be awsome with lime too) Used this to stuff low cal pita halves for lunch. With the extra veg I get a bit healthier meal and stretch this to 3 or 4 servings rather than just 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was awesome... tastes like a great pasta salad, but healthier!! I didn't change a thing and don't think it needs anything more or less. I always use the olive oil mayo, as it is fairly low in fat, but still has a good mayonnaise taste. Thanks, Caron. I never would have thought to put this together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
OMG, this was so good. Didn't have Wasabi powder, no celery and can't eat onions, but I sauted julienned zucchini and chopped carrot, adding in onion powder and the other ingredients. Served it hot, not cold. Wow! Was soooo good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGDANCING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I thought this was a delicious recipe. I used double the tuna and a little more mayo to moisten. Plus I added some dill weed, which I always use for tuna salad. It was fabulous and tasted just as good, if not better, after a couple of days. I used stuffed in a pita with sprouts and diced tomatoes. Yummy and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly as written. Something about this just doesn't work - it might be the combination of lemon juice and the wasabi powder? It was a little better after sitting overnight, but still tasted like something a very inexperienced cook might concoct with whatever is on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I enjoyed this very much. It was very easy to make and the flavors were very yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
The wasabi was a BRILLIANT idea...I'm constantly looking for different quinoa recipes (this superfood is extremely understated)...thanks Caron, I'm now able to add another great quinoa recipe to my arsenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States