Caron's Kickin' Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is a great recipe to play with. I changed out several ingredients, except for the tuna, quinoa, lemon juice and mayonnaise. I didn't have any wasabi powder so I added grape tomatoes, shredded apple and carrots. I didn't have celery either so I used some celery seed, which was tasty. Then the best addition, I chopped a small handful of walnuts and threw that in. It all tasted wonderful together! I find that quinoa is becoming a staple in my kitchen and this is one more recipe I will add to my list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I thought this was a delicious recipe. I used double the tuna and a little more mayo to moisten. Plus I added some dill weed, which I always use for tuna salad. It was fabulous and tasted just as good, if not better, after a couple of days. I used stuffed in a pita with sprouts and diced tomatoes. Yummy and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
The wasabi was a BRILLIANT idea...I'm constantly looking for different quinoa recipes (this superfood is extremely understated)...thanks Caron, I'm now able to add another great quinoa recipe to my arsenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This recipe tasted very good for my husband and myself. Thank you for making it available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly as written. Something about this just doesn't work - it might be the combination of lemon juice and the wasabi powder? It was a little better after sitting overnight, but still tasted like something a very inexperienced cook might concoct with whatever is on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I took this to a group dinner and most everyone liked it alot. I had to add much more of the wasabi powder, maybe it was because I had this in my pantry for quite some time and it has lost it potency. I added carrots that I chopped in the food processor and wanted to add cucumbers just before serving , and ginger,but forgot. Also added a little soy sauce. I'd like to try it again using wasabi paste,the cucumber and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I used wasabi paste and thought it was great. I didn't have celery on hand, so I used some cucumber and zucchini and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This was a delightful flavorful healthy side dish or next day on crackers or toast. My husband liked it as well. I tasted before putting in the tuna and it was just as good, maybe better. I doubled everything except the tuna for a bigger dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Wow - I just made this for my husband and I and we loved it. We made the recipe exactly like it's written, except that I forgot the lemon juice. Served over a bed of greens. It seems like such an odd combination with the wasabi powder, but we both loved it. I'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Great idea, Thank you! - It never occurred to me to mix Quinoa with Tuna. Also- make sure to rinse the Quinoa a few times before cooking to ensure there is no bitter taste. It has to do with a protective coating/residue called saponin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States