Carolyn's Orange Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as stated last Sun, for an Easter brunch, and it was good. I made it again today with the following modifications: I used bread flour instead of AP flour, and the result was a tender but sturdier roll; I used Tangelo zest and ground cardamom for the filling, and I used a milk icing with jasmine extract in place of vanilla extract. The result was a more intensely tropical orange flavor. These changes brought this recipe from a 4.5 to a 5, for my taste at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I'm giving it four stars because I think I might have messed the recipe up. My dough refused to rise. It had great flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahmee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Delicious! I want to try it with lemon juice next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Butchko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I scaled these down to a half an order. They were very good. BUT I did make two modifications. Instead of using all water, I left out four tablespoons and added four tablespoons of orange extract to the dough for flavor. I also added fresh sqeezed orange to the filling in the center and a light orange glaze for the rolls. VERY good, and with these modifications there was just enough orange flavor to these rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
The flavor was good, but these were quite a bit of work so I cannot say I would make them often. Also, cooking in the muffin tins was a neat idea to keep everything separated, but I surprisingly had issues with mine cooking evenly this way. The ones on the edges were done and the ones in the middle were very not done (and I am one who likes gooey rolls!) Next time I would try putting them in a 13 x 9 pan like I do with the cinnamon rolls I make and see if that works better. To top off these rolls, I made a glaze of powdered sugar and orange juice. These were very filling and were enjoyed by my guests all weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Photo by Pooch656
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I loved these orange rolls, they are delicious. I didn't totally follow the directions, I made a whole batch and I needed an extra 2c of flour to get it to a workable state, and I kneaded it a little before setting it aside to proof, for a more tender bread the gluten has to be strong. I just put it aside in a warm place for about an hour, I was going to make them straight away so there was no need to put it in the fridge. The only other thing I did differently was to mix the juice of an orange with enough icing sugar to make a small amount of glaze for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I used the 24-serving recipe and did add an extra cup of flour. I also used almost twice as much filling. The rolls turned out great - a very light and airy bread with a great orange flavor (I topped with a cream cheese orange frosting - cream cheese, orange juice, powdered sugar). Next time I'll try it without the extra cup of flour; once the dough came out of the fridge (btw I left it in for 16 hours and it was fine) it was a lot easier to work with (not the sticky mess it was at first).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I would have given these 5 stars except I did have to add flour..about 1 1/2 cups, in fact. Otherwise it would have not been a dough. And I didn't do the traditional cinnamon filling but a white chocolate and lemon mixture. I topped them with a lemon juice infused cream cheese frosting and they were to die for. Yummy. I will definately use this recipe (modified)again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This one is hard to rate. It turned out fantastic, but there are some real issues with the recipe that I think merit a loss of a star. Mainly, I divided this recipe in half and STILL had to add 1.5 cups of flour to get a workable dough. But once I'd done that, the dough was so beautiful, easy to roll, and buttery tender in flavor that it was worth the extra flour. The extra flour did throw off the yield though, and because I didn't size up the filling I wound up with not enough filling -- so be forewarned, if you add more flour to make this dough come together, add more filling. In the future I would use brown sugar in the filling, twice as much fresh orange zest, and cinnamon. Thanks for sharing your recipe, I iced mine with an OJ/powdered sugar icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This recipe is awesome! I take care of a woman who has Alzheimer's and she described something along this line. It was a hit with her! When I asked her if it tasted like her Mother's recipe, with tears in her eyes she said yes! I did not have the time to raise overnight. I raised like bread only to more than double. And followed the rest as written. Be forewarned...the 2nd rising is very quick--less than 30 min! Make sure to cut smaller than you think! They were huge, and delicious! I did make a glaze for over the top. "It had an orange sauce over the top." I used the leftover 2 Tb of butter, the juice from the zested oranges, powdered sugar, and about 1/4 tsp almond extract. (They weren't drenched, but had enough flavor work.) Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States