Carolyn's Orange Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
This is a fantastic recipe! I added a glaze of 1 cup powdered sugar and 1 1/2 Tablespoons orange juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
Can be adapted for the bread machine by cutting all ingredient measures in half, reducing butter to 5, and reducing yeast to a little over one tablespoon. Dough is very sticky and needs additional flour when turned out after dough cycle. Worth every amount of work. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
These turned out great! A nice change from the usual cinnamon rolls. I also made icing and drizzled over top. I made the dough in the bread machine - I have a small machine and so cut the recipe in thirds, but still needed 6 tbsp butter and 1/2 cup sugar to fully cover the rolled out dough. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
An extremely soft dough making it hard to handle, but worth it as the rolls are delicious. I drizzled a little powdered sugar and orange glaze over them, took them to a family Easter brunch and they were gone in fifteen minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
These are very good. I did change the process the ingredients stayed pretty much the same. I did have to add 4 cups of flour for the dough to come together which is a lot! And I also doubled the zest called for. After mixing the flour with the yeast mixture I kneaded the dough for 8 minutes until it was smooth. Then I let the dough rise outside of the fridge covered with a towel for 1 1/2 hours. Deflate the dough, separate into 2 equal portions, roll out spread butter mixture on the dough, roll up and cut. Then I placed them in the fridge for the night covered with plastic wrap, in the morning I took the rolls out and set them on the counter for about 30 minutes while the oven preheated. Then baked. I did this because I did not want to get up so early to roll out the dough and let it rest. It worked perfectly the way I did it. I did not get 30 rolls because I cut them much thicker than called for. I got 22 large rolls. For a frosting I creamed together an 8oz cream cheese and 1/2 c butter (both softened) added 1 teaspoon orange extract, 3 tablespoons Orange Juice and 2 c powdered sugar. Then thinned it down with additional oj. The icing was really good on these! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
These rolls are so delicious. The delicate orange flavor makes a nice counterpoint to the richness of the buttery dough. Almost like eating cotton candy, they are so tender! I iced them with the Orange Cream Cheese Frosting, from this website, and they are irresistible. I will also use this recipe for cinnamon rolls and dinner rolls. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
Yum! I made these when I made Cinn rolls. Just about the same prep work. Very tasty. I hadn't been able to get the right filling for orange rools before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ward Langston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I thought I couldn't bake. This recipe is so good and even I can do it, (that says a lot)! I top these rolls with orange frosting and even at four dozen, they never last more than one day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
Good- A very subtle orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2001
thank you thank you gaddy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States