Carolyn's Orange Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is a keeper recipe..I agree it should say OVERNIGHT rolls..I too said "SHOOT..I did not want these ready tomorrow!!" so I used more flour..and made 1/2 the batch this am...and the other 1/2 will be tested tomorrow to see if there is any difference in taste or texture...made them small by rolling out much larger and then rolling tightly..LOTS of flavor! baked in round cake pan...LOOKED beautiful when plated and frosted...everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Delicious. I love this as a nice, fresh, spring/summery alternative to Cinnamon Rolls. The dough is great to work with too. Extremely soft and fluffy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I am new to making sweet rolls but these turned out fantastic! The first time I made this recipe, I made them according to the recipe except for that in the morning after I got them out of the fridge, I didn't wait 2 hours for it to come to room temperature. They warmed up quickly on their own from the warmth of my hands as I patted out the dough. They were very moist and tender, just the perfect texture. The second time I made them, the only thing I did different was that I did not let them rise in the fridge for 8 hours. I didn't have time because company was coming over, so I let it rise in a warm spot for an hour, then shaped the rolls and let them rise again for thirty minutes. They turned out amazing! I will use this recipe from now on...no need to look any further for a sweet roll recipe. FYI: you can use this recipe to make wonderful cinnamon rolls, lemon rolls, whatever flavor you are in the mood for! You can also make a simple glaze with powdered sugar, flavoring, water and a little butter or margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia McDonald Innes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
These were a hit at our Mother's Day brunch. Very light and fluffy with a wonderful orange flavor. I did find the dough to be sticky and added about another 1/2 cup of flour, but by the next morning I had no trouble rolling it out. I made the filling the night before and also a batch of the orange cream cheese frosting from this website and let those meld in the refrigerator overnight. I microwaved the filling briefly to soften it up to a spreadable consistency. The frosting was spreadable by the time the rolls had finished baking. This is definitely a keeper recipe. I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I think the title of these rolls should be Carolyn's Overnight Orange Rolls. When I first decided to make this recipe, I just read through the ingredients and did not notice that you need to chill the dough overnight. I was stuck, so I added an additional cup of flour and did not chill the dough b/c I had no time. They turned out great but very strong yeasty taste. Is it necessary to put 3 tablespoons of yeast in here?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves tweet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
For the amount of work, these rolls were just so-so. I brought them to work and brought home over half. I have made better rolls from Bisquick mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These were very tasty. I think I'd prefer them as a holiday bread option - ala panetone shortcut - than a breakfast roll. Next time I'll try this by skipping the frosting and maybe adding a bit of candied orange peel and/or golden raisins. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Witzig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Wonderful flavour! I found the dough a little soft, and added a bit of extra flour when turning it out. I'll add a bit more to the dough initially the next time. I received many compliments for these rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Wonderful! I made a cream cheese frosting with orange zest to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
These are very good. I did change the process the ingredients stayed pretty much the same. I did have to add 4 cups of flour for the dough to come together which is a lot! And I also doubled the zest called for. After mixing the flour with the yeast mixture I kneaded the dough for 8 minutes until it was smooth. Then I let the dough rise outside of the fridge covered with a towel for 1 1/2 hours. Deflate the dough, separate into 2 equal portions, roll out spread butter mixture on the dough, roll up and cut. Then I placed them in the fridge for the night covered with plastic wrap, in the morning I took the rolls out and set them on the counter for about 30 minutes while the oven preheated. Then baked. I did this because I did not want to get up so early to roll out the dough and let it rest. It worked perfectly the way I did it. I did not get 30 rolls because I cut them much thicker than called for. I got 22 large rolls. For a frosting I creamed together an 8oz cream cheese and 1/2 c butter (both softened) added 1 teaspoon orange extract, 3 tablespoons Orange Juice and 2 c powdered sugar. Then thinned it down with additional oj. The icing was really good on these! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States