Carolyn's Orange Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
For years I have competed in the county fair and have looked and looked for the right recipe for cinnamon rolls. Every year I thought I had it and to no avail place in the lower placing's. NOT this year with this recipe, Took GRAND-CHAMP of yeast division. I keep the recipe the same no changes but cinnamon instead of orange flavor. THANK YOU Heidi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
The amount of flour needed in mine was way more then the recipe calls for. The dough needs to be coming off the sides of the bowl, still soft and a little sticky, so keep that in mind when adding the flour. I almost doubled the amount of zest in "filling", and added zest to the cream cheese topping I made. on the day it still didn't taste much like orange, but the next day, its full of flavor. I missed buttermilk in the dough, and some orange taste, so next time, I will add 2 spoons of orange juice to the milk. That should do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This dough is wonderful to work with and very tasty. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Delicious! I used my bread machine and used both bread machine flour and yeast, and went through the dough stage. The dough was very soft and only took a small amount of flour to roll out. I halved the recipe to fit in my machine. Can't wait to make them again. I might actually use the whole amount of filling the next time just to make them a little more gooey. Either way this is a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I also needed to add about another cup of flour. I think adjusting flour is a given with this type of recipe based on humidity and other factors. Otherwise I let it rise on my kitchen counter for about an hour, then put it in the refrigerator for about 4 hours where it doubled in size. This was a great dough to work with- pressed it out into a rectangular shape and then rolled it to specified thickness. Rolls baked up beautifully after they rose in the pan (2-9x13 pans)for about 30 minutes. I wrapped and froze one pan as suggested by another reader. The other pan was frosted with the Orange cream cheese frosting from this site. Delicious and a keeper for many sweet roll possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as stated last Sun, for an Easter brunch, and it was good. I made it again today with the following modifications: I used bread flour instead of AP flour, and the result was a tender but sturdier roll; I used Tangelo zest and ground cardamom for the filling, and I used a milk icing with jasmine extract in place of vanilla extract. The result was a more intensely tropical orange flavor. These changes brought this recipe from a 4.5 to a 5, for my taste at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I'm giving it four stars because I think I might have messed the recipe up. My dough refused to rise. It had great flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahmee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Delicious! I want to try it with lemon juice next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Butchko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I scaled these down to a half an order. They were very good. BUT I did make two modifications. Instead of using all water, I left out four tablespoons and added four tablespoons of orange extract to the dough for flavor. I also added fresh sqeezed orange to the filling in the center and a light orange glaze for the rolls. VERY good, and with these modifications there was just enough orange flavor to these rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
The flavor was good, but these were quite a bit of work so I cannot say I would make them often. Also, cooking in the muffin tins was a neat idea to keep everything separated, but I surprisingly had issues with mine cooking evenly this way. The ones on the edges were done and the ones in the middle were very not done (and I am one who likes gooey rolls!) Next time I would try putting them in a 13 x 9 pan like I do with the cinnamon rolls I make and see if that works better. To top off these rolls, I made a glaze of powdered sugar and orange juice. These were very filling and were enjoyed by my guests all weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States