Carolyn's Holiday Fruit Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I can't believe this hasn't had more reviews. This bread is the BEST! I make this bread every year, in small loaves, for everyone at Christmas... and they LOVE it. You can add different fruits if you would like and it would still be great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
after reading some notes i too reduced the applesauce to 1 1/4 c. and added 7 chopped figs dredged in oat bran. I also plumped the raisins in a cup of chai tea (no sugar)... Baked in two mini loaf pans.quite happy with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I made muffins out of this recipe. I ground my oats down in my mini food processor for a finer texture. We don't care for walnuts so I used chopped pecans in it's place. I also soaked my raisins in unsweetened, hot chai for 20 minutes before adding them to the muffin batter. (I assumed that black raisins were regular raisins, mine were just organic) SUPER moist, awesome texture and really flavorful. I got 12 largish muffins out of one recipe--350* for 20 minutes and they were perfect. I think these would be good with chopped apples thrown in and maybe a half teaspoon of nutmeg, too. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Wonderful bread that's bursting with a delicious combination of fruits and nuts! I cut back on the applesauce a bit and added some fresh chopped apples. I also a struesel topping before popping it into the oven. I baked this in a 9x5 baking dish and it was done in about an hour. It smelled divine and tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I liked this bread as well. I did not add the sugar, but added a ripe bananna instead. I also did not use any butter, and added chopped dried apricots instead. It did not rise much, maybe next time I will try more baking power/soda. Any tips? It is sweet enough, dont need the sugar or fat in my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Wow, this was FANTASTIC! Moist and delicious! Will definitely save to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This bread is just what I was looking for: fruit bread (or cake) with dried, not candied, fruit. I made just a few minor changes by using 1/3 cup butter and then added pureed prunes to make it 1/2 cup, and I added 1/2 cup each chopped dates and dried cranberries. It turned out rich, filling, and very tasty. And the aroma of the cloves was heavenly. I baked it in cupcake pans and the size and portion were just right. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Very very good. Not too sweet and very moist! Definately would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Great tasting treat! I made 1/2 batch and put into two 2.5 x 5 in. foil pans. Gave one away, and the lady who doesn't even like raisins loved this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. Be sure your loaf pan is big enough as this makes a BIG loaf! Very moist; perfect with a little cream cheese on top. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATURTLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holliston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Union, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States