Carol's King Ranch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This turned out great. I made a few modifications: NO BEANS! I have lived in Texas for 27 years and no one has ever served me KRC with beans in it. We serve the beans on the side! Also, I used a mix of corn and flour tortillas. This is a terrific recipe for it, not too much of anything - a perfect blend. This casserole was derived from the famous King Ranch, in Kingsville, Tx. AAA+++ for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
This recipe is a lot like a chicken enchilada recipe that I usually make, but this recipe is so much easier and quicker. 5 stars from my husband and 4 stars from me. I used a 10 oz can of rotel tomatoes instead of the 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes and it was perfect, not too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I really tried to like this recipe but my whole family just choked it down, which was a bummer because it is not the cheapest casserole to make with all it's ingredients. I followed the recipe to a tee but it was just yucky...maybe it needs corn tortillas rather than flour as they tend to become a mushy, floury mess. Abyhow, it didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
NEVER use flour tortillas in King Ranch Casserole! They make the casserole gummy. Only corn tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
Awesome, Awesome, Awesome. And suprisingly easy. My husband never eats white meat or bell peppers and he ate this, seconds at that. We will me be making this a lot more. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Excellent - Left out the beans, and added a can of corn (drained) instead. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
Very good casserole. Husband loved it! I made a few changes based on what I had on hand. Used green pepper instead of red, plain cooked pinto beans with added 1 T. chili powder and 0.5 tsp cumin, and 16 corn tortillas instead of flour. Had wonderful flavor and was not dry at all. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
excellent and MUCH easier than my old recipe! i made is as directed and it came out just right! i used one of those mesquite flavored roasted chickens from the deli at the grocery store to cut down on cooking time and it was wonderful! oh, i did put the beans ON THE SIDE, as that is how we do it here in Texas :) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was the best King Ranch casserole I have ever tasted, and I didn't have to change a thing. My husband evern loved it, and he has been eating his Mom's King Ranch casserole for years. Now this is his favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This is delicious & easy to make. Always a request when going to parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States