Carol's King Ranch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I made this recipe and my family loved it. But I did make a couple of alterations , instead of the 12 flour tortillas I used 6 and then added crisp tortilla chips aabout half a bag. this made it less soggy, I omitted the chicken bouillon. I used cheddar cheese instead of the colby-monterey. It is a very easy and quick to fix recipe, just wonderful. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipes was just okay, I would probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I'm wondering if there is an error in the recipe! The ingredients call for flour tortillas, but the instructions refer to corn tortillas. I made it with flour tortillas and agree with another reviewer that the tortillas were soggy and not good. The photo shows something more substantial on the bottom layer, but I can assure you, that was not the case with my efforts! The ingredients would be correct for standard Kings Ranch casserole....IF it had corn tortillas. I see others have been happy with the results, so maybe they did something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
NEVER use flour tortillas in King Ranch Casserole! They make the casserole gummy. Only corn tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
My husband really enjoyed it. However, he wants me to use crispy tortilla chips next time. He requested I keep the recipe and try it again. I think I just need to tweak it to our taste buds, so, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennstude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Excellent - Left out the beans, and added a can of corn (drained) instead. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Made this for dinner last night and the husband loved it! Great flavors, just enough spice, and very hearty. It will become a staple in our home. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I have made this recipes many times. I do change a couple of things. I don't like to bite onions, so I use onion powder. I also use roasted red peppers, they add a different flavor. I also add in some garlic, powdered or fresh, depending on what I have. Always comes out great and makes wonderful leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Wangeline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe. I did make a few changes, and I agree that it did come out a bit soupy. I didn't have a bell pepper on hand so I used celery instead. I sauteed the onion and the celery and added some cumin in butter until soft. Then I added it to the soup mix. I did sub out the mushroom soup for cream of celery and added a 1/2 cup sour cream to the soup mix. I also used 1/2 monterrey jack and half sharp cheddar, and I used salsa wheat tortillas instead of white flour ones. I agree with another review that the flour tortillas make it a bit gummy so I might either use the tortilla chips or corn tortillas next time. I also skipped the first step by buying and dicing a rotisserie chicken. Yummy. I did use both rotel tomatoes and the can of green chilis as well as a 3 tsp. of chili powder because my husband likes things with a kick. He and his dad loved it. They gave it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hagedorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
very good. A bit spicy for people unacoustumed to spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States