Carol's King Ranch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Alterations made for personal preferance were corn tortillas-diced, whole chicken deboned, layered sauteed onions in olive oil. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ingleside, Texas, USA
Living In: Aransas Pass, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Good...tastes better when the flavors have time to meld a little bit. I used corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I made this for the first time when friends came over. They loved it! I sauted the onions and red peppers to soften them in butter first and then added the soup ingredients. I also used ranch style beans and drained them because they are my favorite! I used Rotel and didn't add the chicken broth to the mixture to make it less runny. I also used corn tortillas and only 2 cups of cheese on top. Baked for 45 minutes based on other reviews that it needs to be cooked longer. Added sour cream to the servings when it was dished up. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jondra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
It was okay. It's really similar to my enchalada casserole. I've never heard of King Ranch casserole before so maybe it's a type of enchalada casserole. I did add a little bit of corn and once I served the dish I topped with sour cream, green onions, black olives and fresh cut tomatoes. The sour cream on top really made it better. Liked it but will stick to my own chicken enchalada recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shiloh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Great recipe! I crock pot an entire 5lb bag of chicken breasts with 1 stick of butter, and a jar of my favorite hot sauce. I kept the beans on the side. I almost doubled the recipe to make additional layers. I added a cup of Velveeta chunks, 3 small sweet peppers, a can of fire roasted tomatoes w/garlic. To help with thickening I added strips of flour tortillas to the mix which worked perfectly! With each layer I added a layer of corn tortillas then the sauce and chicken mix plus a mix of cheddar and Monterrey Jack cheese. I got four thumbs up thus far. Thanks for the basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Love it- My boyfriend requests this all the time now! He even made me make it on his bday. I did use the corn tortillas and extra tortilla chips but otherwise its great as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
It was ok I guess...I didn't hate it but I won't be making it again either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Only use corn tortillas, NOT flour. Trust me on this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogerB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Clear Lake Shores, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This was very delicious! I used corn tortillas as other people suggested, but otherwise left the recipe as is. Very cheap to make and lots of leftovers - perfect since I'm in college!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Galena, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was absolutely EXCELLENT! I did make a couple of changes, though. I used what I had on hand. I used onion powder instead of onions (family doesn't like onions and bell peppers). I also used Rotel chili fixings instead of just tomatoes. I also used 1 can of kidney beans (no chili beans) and a can of refried beans. It turned out absolutely awesome! My whole entire family ate it (not too spicy). Even my picky kids and my toddler loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States