Carol's King Ranch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Thought it was very good. Took it to a church potluck, came home with an empty dish. Alot of complements on it. I made one sllight change, I cooked the flour tortillas in a dry cast iron skillet first. That way they did not get mushy in the casserole. Other than that I made no changes to the recipe. First time I try a recipe I follows the directions exactly. How can you honestly rate a receipt that you have changed to fit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Tried this tonight my partner loved it. I had to sub a few things and I found 2 cans of soup way to much and only used one and no water. It was plenty runny. I used chopped Jalapeno for the chiles and a can of chilli for the little bit of chicken and beans I was missing. I had too much sauce at that point. I did not shred the tortillas but rather layered it all in a pie plate and added shredded cheese to every layer. Served with Greek yogurt on the side. Very tasty. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by screamingwallflower

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was awesome! I didn't have cream of mushroom so I added a large can of cream of chicken. I also sauted onion with some fresh mushrooms. I added a sm can of green chilis and 1/4 can of green enchilada sauce! It was perfect everyone cleaned their plater even my 23 month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Followed instructions, but was very soupy. The flavor was good, so my husband placed all the casserole contents into a skillet to cook down. While it cooked, he cut the tortilla strips into smaller pieces. After that, it was great and more of a traditional, thicker consistency. Not sure if my strips were too big, or if my organic cream soups were too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Very rich and cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Great recipe. Subbed corn tortillas because what I had on hand. My husband raved it was the best chicken dish I made in some time. I knew I would like it but surprised me that my husband didn't just say it was okay. I will be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zroe

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is a family favorite! The best part is that it is easily customizable to accomodate taste preferences and on-hand ingredients. I prefer using Rotel and corn tortillas, but have made it exactly as the recipe states and have found it yummy as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effervescent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clear, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was delicious.However I made it with all corn tortillas and I did one can of beans and one of corn as others had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
We loved this! I used flour tortillas and had no problem, tho I used only 10- 8" tortillas rather than 12. I also determined that 1/2 cup of the chicken broth created the right consistency of the soup mixture rather than a whole cup. It's a great left over. Will definitely make this easy-to-make casserole again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
DO not use beans nor flour tortillas. Use 8 corn tortillas instead and only 1/2 cup chicken broth. I have substituted Doritos tortilla/corn chips for the corn tortillas also. Be sure and add onion and salt and pepper to the water that the chicken is boiling in. Been a Texan for over 50 years, no beans ever in the King Ranch Casserole. Would not make ithis recipe as it is.t as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States