Carol's King Ranch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Thought it was very good. Took it to a church potluck, came home with an empty dish. Alot of complements on it. I made one sllight change, I cooked the flour tortillas in a dry cast iron skillet first. That way they did not get mushy in the casserole. Other than that I made no changes to the recipe. First time I try a recipe I follows the directions exactly. How can you honestly rate a receipt that you have changed to fit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Tried this tonight my partner loved it. I had to sub a few things and I found 2 cans of soup way to much and only used one and no water. It was plenty runny. I used chopped Jalapeno for the chiles and a can of chilli for the little bit of chicken and beans I was missing. I had too much sauce at that point. I did not shred the tortillas but rather layered it all in a pie plate and added shredded cheese to every layer. Served with Greek yogurt on the side. Very tasty. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by screamingwallflower

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was awesome! I didn't have cream of mushroom so I added a large can of cream of chicken. I also sauted onion with some fresh mushrooms. I added a sm can of green chilis and 1/4 can of green enchilada sauce! It was perfect everyone cleaned their plater even my 23 month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Followed instructions, but was very soupy. The flavor was good, so my husband placed all the casserole contents into a skillet to cook down. While it cooked, he cut the tortilla strips into smaller pieces. After that, it was great and more of a traditional, thicker consistency. Not sure if my strips were too big, or if my organic cream soups were too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Very rich and cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Great recipe. Subbed corn tortillas because what I had on hand. My husband raved it was the best chicken dish I made in some time. I knew I would like it but surprised me that my husband didn't just say it was okay. I will be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zroe

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is a family favorite! The best part is that it is easily customizable to accomodate taste preferences and on-hand ingredients. I prefer using Rotel and corn tortillas, but have made it exactly as the recipe states and have found it yummy as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effervescent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clear, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was delicious.However I made it with all corn tortillas and I did one can of beans and one of corn as others had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
We loved this! I used flour tortillas and had no problem, tho I used only 10- 8" tortillas rather than 12. I also determined that 1/2 cup of the chicken broth created the right consistency of the soup mixture rather than a whole cup. It's a great left over. Will definitely make this easy-to-make casserole again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
DO not use beans nor flour tortillas. Use 8 corn tortillas instead and only 1/2 cup chicken broth. I have substituted Doritos tortilla/corn chips for the corn tortillas also. Be sure and add onion and salt and pepper to the water that the chicken is boiling in. Been a Texan for over 50 years, no beans ever in the King Ranch Casserole. Would not make ithis recipe as it is.t as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States