Carol's Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This is the best chicken salad I’ve ever eaten with a couple adjustments. I made it a couple of years ago for a birthday brunch for my mother, and people still ask me for the recipe! It’s wonderful as is, but since I like to throw it together fairly often, sometimes I don’t always have all the ingredients. I omit the Swiss and the chestnuts sometimes, and I do vary the fruit a bit. I like to use red and green grapes, just for a little color variation. I’ve also added diced green apple with scrumptious results. If you don’t like mayo (like me) a nice light variation is to use half Miracle Whip and half sour cream or plain yogurt. There is so much flavor with the fruit and veggies, the dressing doesn’t need to be so mayo-y. This is amazing just plain, or on a toasted bagel or croissant. Once you try this one, no other chicken salad will suffice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
All the ingredients are just right. I would change only the prep by adding the lemon juice, pepper, onion and garlic powders to the chicken before anything else. Let that soak for 10 minutes, then add the rest. In any case, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I made this recipe for a baby shower that I hosted, and everyone raved about it. I left out the grapes because I was serving it on croissants. The twenty minute prep time is just plain wrong, but it was worth the time spent preparing the dish. I will make it again, and I have to send the recipe to several people who attended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This chicken salad was delicious, unusual but delicious. Please ignore anyone telling you to cut the poultry seasoning. The dry recipe amounts called for are perfect. The only thing I think you need more off is mayo. Just add it at the end to adjust the salad to your creaminess preference. Other than the mayo I followed the recipe exactly & I have added this to my permanent recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
I liked this recipe with a couple of modifications: The celery and the water chestnuts made this a little too crunchy for me. I will leave out the water chestnuts next time. I'm not sure the cheese is necessary. You could probably cut it in half or drop it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
I made this for my daughter's 1st birthday party (we had about 50 adults) and scaled it to 30. So it took a long time to cook the chicken and cut the grapes & chicken, but it was well worth it. I shredded the swiss cheese by accident (didn't read the directions) but it was actually better than I think diced would've been. Everyone LOVED it and I sent the recipe to all via email afterwards. I will definitely be adding this to my "party" menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
We loved this chicken salad. So tasty!!! I did omit the water chestnust and added walnuts like others suggested also used chunky apple sauce instead of the apples that I was going to use because it seemed to dry if you wanted to put it on a sandwich and I didnt want to over load it with more Mayo (my husbands suggestion and right on). Delish!!! The more I make this the more I get asked for the recipe! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Delicious. Omitted the swiss and the grapes and added 1/2 cup toasted pecan pieces. All my guests requested the recipe. Used my Pampered Chef food chopper and prep time was much faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I am always in search of "The Best" chicken salad recipes since it's my favorite lunchtime meal. This is a 5 star recipe. My husband is yhe food&beverage manager at our local golf and country club. Can't wait for him to try it there! I didn't have water chestnuts, poultry seasoning, nor grapes. Still, it turned out to be wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
This recipe tastes wonderful!...I can't wait to take it to work tommorrow. I agree that the 20 minutes is a little far fetched with all the chopping that is involved. But I judge a recipe mostly on taste, and this one was well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States