Carol's Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Scrumptious! Left out the water chestnuts (personal preference) and used red grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is an easy meal & my kids all love it. I've made a few changes, I don't add celery, onion, cheese or nuts & instead of grapes I add mandarin oranges & mix them real well throughout. (The kids favorite part are the oranges!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This is is probably the best chicken salad recipe I've tasted! I didn't have green onions, water chestnuts, cheese or grapes so it was pretty basic but sstill SO very good! My kids asked for seconds, and that's saying a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
As always, I made some changes. I changed the quantity to 30 to serve about 50 people at a catering event I did. (I bought croissants, cut them in half, and made a pocket to put the chicken salad -- worked great). The sauce, I did NOTHING to, it's perfect. I omitted the water chestnuts, I used shredded swiss cheese instead, and about 1/2 the grapes it called for -- perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StBernardMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I thought it was great, but wasn't sure what my friends would thing. They loved it and have requested that I make it again this week! By the way, I left out the poultry seasoning because I didn't have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYFANWYS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I like that there are a lot of ingredients in here that make this chicken salad more gourmet. I.e. grapes, green onion. I used red grapes and I really liked the color. I however thought that the poultry seasoning was very overpowering. I made this once and I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
My husband isn't a fan of fruit in his chicken salad but he LOVES this recipe! My grandma even called to get the recipe after she had it and believe me, her recipe is excellent. I served it with a choice of sourdough or pumpernickel and swiss or pepperjack cheese... SOOOOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacksMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I love this recipes. I leave out the ingredients of cheese and water chestnuts and it still so yummy! Everyone I have ever made it for, loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I found this to be a very yummy chicken salad, although I made some changes to make it healthier. First, I cooked the chicken by placing it in a pan of chicken broth, bringing it to a boil, then removing it from the heat and letting it stand for 15 minutes to cook through... tender, flavorful chicken resulted. For the dressing, instead of 1/2 cup of mayo, I used 1/4 c reduced-fat Helmann's mayonnaise and 1/4 c reduced-fat sour cream. I omitted the cheese altogether, as I didn't really feel that was necessary. The result is a 3/4-cup serving with 124 calories, 3.5 grams of fat and less than a gram of fiber (3 Weight Watchers points for anyone interested) which is a much lighter, much healthier version but with all the creamy yumminess. Next time, I will reduce the poultry seasoning from 3/4 tsp to 1/2 tsp, as I found it to be slightly overpowering. All in all, the recipe gave me a great base from which to create a delicious, healthy meal. I'm sure it would taste fabulous the way it was written, but for those of you who are like me, you can't afford 19.5 grams of fat in one serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCBARTKO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Great recipe, even though I left out a few ingredients because I threw it together at the last minute and didn't have time to run to the store. I'm always in search of ways to use up leftover boiled chicken and I've been looking for the perfect chicken salad recipe. I chose this one based on the number of positive reviews. I did not have celery, green onion, water chestnuts or swiss cheese, so I just left these out. I used red grapes instead of green and added some chopped pecans. After 7 years of marriage, I finally convinced my husband to try chicken salad (he has always maintained that he doesn't like it). After a few bites of this, he declared it "the best chicken salad I've ever had." And then he proceeded to eat the rest of it. Even my 2-year-old liked it! Thanks for converting my family to chicken salad lovers! I can't wait to take this to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States