Carol's Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Not very good. This should be called "Carol's Swiss Cheese Salad". The cheese overwhelms everything else. In fact, there's such little chicken, you can't even taste it. IMO, any type of cheese has no place in a chicken salad. And shouldn't chicken be the main ingredient in a "chicken" salad? This would be much better by reducing or eliminating the cheese altogether and substituting something that complements the other ingredients such as diced radishes, mild diced onions, more celery, or chopped egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as written. It was good, but next time, I will definitely reduce the poultry seasoning by half and probably eliminate the water chestnuts altogether. The poultry seasoning was way too pronounced and the chestnuts didn't add anything. I will probably add more mayonnaise too, as the mixture ended up being pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great. I used 2 cooked chicken breasts and omitted the grapes and cheese. Used about 3/4 cup mayo, and followed the rest of the directions. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This really hit the spot. I've been craving chicken salad, but I wanted something more than just throwing in mayo. The seasoning for this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Ok. I would leave out or DRAMATICALLY reduce the poultry seasoning. I dont know, it just gave it a weird taste. And as you eat it, you try to figure out what that flavor is instead of enjoying all the other flavors. If I make again, it will be without the poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This is the best chicken salad I have ever had, I think it's the poultry seasoning that really gives it a wonderful flavor. I add chopped cashews and crasins to it. Great on it's own or in buns - Hawaiian bread is great with it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Very good! I left out the water chestnuts and swiss cheese, and it still tasted delicious. Had it for lunch several days with some tomato on pita bread. Plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! I've been making it for years now and I get many requests to bring it to gatherings. The only adjustment I make is I don't use as much poultry seasoning as it calls for. Maybe 1/2 teaspoon instead of 3/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Yum! made for a summer picnic. Mom and sister loved this chicken salad. My favorite chicken salad recipe so far. I haven't used the Swiss cheese yet and will not be using water chestnuts- just don't like em. I like another reviewer's suggestion of using sour cream as well as mayo -will try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was awesome, especially on a hot summer night when I did not feel like cooking. I used a store bought rotisserie chicken to make prep easier and I used red grapes because that is what I had in the house. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States