Carol's Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
By far the best chicken salad recipe out there! I have made it quite a few times and always get rave reviews. My advice: • Use thigh and breast meat from a store bought rotisserie chicken. • Make sure the grapes are sweet. • Finely chop the celery and onion (fresh chives may be subbed for onion) • Coarsely chop the water chestnuts. • Don’t dice but coarsely grate the Swiss cheese. Serve this to guests and you will get a lot of requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliceandtrixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I just made it. I used old tasteless fried chicken that I bought from the grocery store and froze, defrosted it and followed the recipe (without the skin). I didn't have any celery so I used celery seeds instesd. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I just made this an hour ago. My son loved it. [very picky eater] I used chicken leftover from last night's dinner. I changed things a bit [of course]. I omitted the celery [sorry--I don't like dental floss as a vegetable!! haha!!] I used pine nuts instead of water chestnuts because that's what I had on hand. My husband shredded the swiss and I liked it that way. Also, I didn't have any poultry seasoning, so I just used a dab of sage, thyme, and crushed rosemary. The only complaint I have [shich is why I gave it a 4] is that it's WAY too salty!!! I would cut the salt in 1/2, or cut it out completely. If you season your chicken when you cook it, I just don't think you need it! Other than that, it was very tasty! I'm sure I'll make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti in AZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Very good chicken salad! I did make it without the onion ~ my kids wouldn't touch if I had put them in ~ and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
During Oregon's heat wave last week, I made this for dinner for myself and my two teenage boys. Next morning - it was gone and they wanted it again. So I made it. Next night was fast food and another boy asked me to make it the next night! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Mason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Simply excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
As many have suggested, to some the poultry seasoning doesnt cut it. Just use seasoning salt instead and you'll be satisfied with the results. I Add apples and Dried cranberry or dried Goji berry & a lil paprika. I dont use the nuts or cheese. Just tweak it to your own taste budz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
LOVE this. I even added pasta and extra dressing and made it for picnic. I used red grapes, that's what I had. You could use apple too. I'm not going to look any further for a chicken salsd recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
It was decent chicken salad but it was a little bland for my taste. I have other recipes that I would prefer over this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Perfect recipe. I did not add celery or swiss cheese and it was still delicious. I wasn't sure about the water chestnuts but they added a wonderful, refreshing crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States