Carol's Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I love this recipes. I leave out the ingredients of cheese and water chestnuts and it still so yummy! Everyone I have ever made it for, loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I found this to be a very yummy chicken salad, although I made some changes to make it healthier. First, I cooked the chicken by placing it in a pan of chicken broth, bringing it to a boil, then removing it from the heat and letting it stand for 15 minutes to cook through... tender, flavorful chicken resulted. For the dressing, instead of 1/2 cup of mayo, I used 1/4 c reduced-fat Helmann's mayonnaise and 1/4 c reduced-fat sour cream. I omitted the cheese altogether, as I didn't really feel that was necessary. The result is a 3/4-cup serving with 124 calories, 3.5 grams of fat and less than a gram of fiber (3 Weight Watchers points for anyone interested) which is a much lighter, much healthier version but with all the creamy yumminess. Next time, I will reduce the poultry seasoning from 3/4 tsp to 1/2 tsp, as I found it to be slightly overpowering. All in all, the recipe gave me a great base from which to create a delicious, healthy meal. I'm sure it would taste fabulous the way it was written, but for those of you who are like me, you can't afford 19.5 grams of fat in one serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCBARTKO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Great recipe, even though I left out a few ingredients because I threw it together at the last minute and didn't have time to run to the store. I'm always in search of ways to use up leftover boiled chicken and I've been looking for the perfect chicken salad recipe. I chose this one based on the number of positive reviews. I did not have celery, green onion, water chestnuts or swiss cheese, so I just left these out. I used red grapes instead of green and added some chopped pecans. After 7 years of marriage, I finally convinced my husband to try chicken salad (he has always maintained that he doesn't like it). After a few bites of this, he declared it "the best chicken salad I've ever had." And then he proceeded to eat the rest of it. Even my 2-year-old liked it! Thanks for converting my family to chicken salad lovers! I can't wait to take this to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This has become a summer staple in our house! I love the flavor and have had fun playing by adding additional veggies to it. Very good and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan B.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
delicious! a friend of mine made this for my 30th birthday party...it was a hit! people were asking to take some home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy Gillis
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I love this. All my friends love this. My sisters love this. Haven't met anyone yet who doesn't love this. It's a great recipe. I get nothing but raves every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
For a summer salad or with soup it's great and very simple to put together. One of my standards. I did make a few changes. I added garlic powder, onion powder, chopped onions, or green onions. The lemon juice makes it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I thought this was really good. I added a bit more mayo to make it a little creamier and left out the water chestnuts because I don't like them. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
EXECELLENT! I made a few changes, used red grapes rather than green. I also did not add the swiss cheese or water chestnuts and it was still perfect. I also didnt have a lemon, so I used lemon pepper instead. This was so good and everyone at work loved it. Will be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Nothing real special. Lacked some flavor for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States