Carol's Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I prepared this chicken salad tonight so I could have it for lunch tomorrow. I have used this as a base recipe before but to be safe I double checked the reviews before beginning. I didn't read anything about it tasting over-seasoned but that is what I found. Too much poultry seasoning and salt in my opinion. I created a variation using celery, red grapes and pecans (to be added before eating) since that is what I had on hand. I ended up having to add more lemon juice, grapes and mayo to offest the seasonings. It still doesn't taste great but it will have to do for lunch. Next time I would definitely use a half or a quarter of the poultry season and no salt. I'd rather sprinkle a lil while eating if need be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I have made this chicken salad I dont know how many times!! We use a rotisserie chicken, shred the swiss cheese and leave out the water chestnuts. My husband always begs me to make it, so I always double the recipes even though its just us 2 LOL We eat it up in the matter of days. This is by far my favorite chicken salad recipe. Thank you Carol for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Was looking for a good base recipe and this was it :) I subbed Ranch dressing for mayo, used 1tsp minced garlic instead of the powder and some diced dill pickle in place of the lemon juice. Didn't have green onions but half of a yellow worked. I left the fruit and chestnuts out and added 4 slices of cooked crumbled bacon. 2 chicken breast baked for 35 min at 350 and shredded worked well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was pretty good. Not exactly what I was looking for, but good. I used half red grapes and half chopped apples. I also added 1/2 cup pecans. I agree with other reviewers about the swiss cheese. Don't think it needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This is my favorite chicken salad and everyone who I make it for asks for it again and again. We love it! I like to serve it on a croissant. The only slight change I ever make is that I will used shredded swiss cheese if the store has it to save time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This recipe is delicious! I added 1 jalapeno (seeded and finely diced) for heat. Served chicken salad on flourless wheat bread with alfalfa sprouts. Excellent lunch! Thanks Carol you get 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Early

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
yummy, yummy, yummy!! Follow the recipe to a T, it's right on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Love it, make it all the time especially for conventions. Have also used red grapes, just as good (make sure they are seedless!) and often keep forgetting about the green onions. Still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damaris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I dont use water chesnuts but this is the best chicken salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayka
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
My husband makes this when I can't make dinner and it is delicious! He makes it exactly the same as in the recipe, except he leaves out the poultry seasoning. It has been phenomenal every time. I love it on Triscuits, homemade wheat bread, and just by itself. I highly recommend this recipe, it's delicious and foolproof (just ask my hubby!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States