Carol's Butter Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
This is a wonderful cake. I made it for my dad's birthday and everyone loved it. I frosted it with a caramel frosting (butter, brown sugar, conf. sugar)- the one listed didn't look very interesting to me. It was a perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
I tried this cake and it was absolutely fantastic. The cake has the flavor of my favorite ice cream, Buttered pecan. I got rave reviews from my family when I made this cake for my mom's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This cake and frosting was incredible! The flavor was great. I should have used a little oil in the batter to make it a little more moist, and I needed to crumble the pecans more. But everyone was going back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
This is one of those cakes that can really be addictive. I probably make it once a month at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
My friend loves butter pecan or praline everything, so I decided to make this for her. It turned out great, especially the batter! Straight out of the oven it smelled like IHOP pecan pancakes, and it had a texture like fluffy banana nut bread. I thought the icing was a nice complement to the cake, and altogether it's so sweet and rich I can only eat a piece or two a day, instead of marathon cake binges-- which is a good thing. :) Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This cake was great - easy to make, not too sweet and the exact right balance of moisture. I can't comment on the icing because I made it for a class and had to use the Wilton icing, but I'll definitely make the cake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This turned out great. I'm a wedding cake designer and I will use this recipe again and again. If overbaked the cake can be a lil dry otherwise I really recomend the cake. Thankyou for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
i made this for a friend of mine who loves butter pecan cake, she loved it! i used a different buttercream icing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H.L. Whitacre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I found the layers of this cake to be quite dry. The frosting was excellent and the cake had a good flavor but still not moist at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This cake was good, but I used wheat flour and it made it more dense and dry. It wasn't as popular as the pies. I would use regular flour next time and would make sure to buy a sifter to sift the flour first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMARASUE2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemlock, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States