Caroling Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
Absolutely great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
This recipe is excellent for a cold winter night and a gathering of good friends!! I tried it out on a group of women that get together once a month and it was the official drink for the next month as well. One of them used the recipe for a holiday party at her workplace and it was a smash there as well! This is an very smooth, sweet, warm drink to include at winter dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This is pretty good - we threw in some brandy too, and reduced the sugar - it was a little sweet. Also, one bottle of wine isn't 4 cups! 750 ml = 3 1/2 c. Not a big deal unless you are tripling the recipe ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
I only had one orange and one bottle of wine, but this tasted pretty good. It smells great and is a little different than hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
I shared this recipe with some friends for the first time and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I served it during the holidays and my guests loved it. I used a cabernet sauvignon and kept it warm in my slow cooker. Thanks Bea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamstown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
The first time I made this I didn't follow directions, and I liked it better than the time I did. Instead of waiting to add the wine, I just threw the wine in together w/ the rest of the ingredients, and simmered it for about 1/2 an hour. It was less heady that way and could accommodate even the worst of red wines. Also, I put in entire orange wedges instead of orange rinds. Although I adjusted the water, sugar, and fruit juice for having only 3 cups of wine (thanks to the reviewer who said that 1 bottle = 3 cups), I kept the same amount of spices and oranges and left out the salt. Next time, I'd add even less sugar. It was a tad on the sweet side for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I sliced two whole oranges into 1/4" rounds rather than using just the peel. It made it even more festive. This is a very nice drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I made this for Halloween and called it my "Witches Brew." We loved it...great for our chilly Michigan evenings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyG.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
A major hit at my family's Thanksgiving get together, next year I will be making two batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Classic Wine Pairings

Discover wine and food matchups made in heaven.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States