Carolina Style Low Carb Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Don Ensminger
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Delicious, simple recipe to follow. I could not locate White Pepper so I doubled the Black pepper. In keeping with the health benefits I used Splenda/Fiber; not sure if any fiber remained after simmering but figured couldn't hurt. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Ensminger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This is great for a low carb option. I did find it a bit spicy in a mouth puckering kind of way, but it it very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Oh wow, I'm totally jumping on the 5 star bandwagon with this one. As has been mentioned by many reviewers, one of the most difficult parts of living on a low carb diet is the lack of decent sauces. This one is PERFECT! My husband can't stop raving about it! Only change I made was using black pepper rather than white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Tasty and tangy - a great barbecue sauce! I'm from Virginia, so I'm used to the usual tomato barbecue sauces and I *adore* North Carolina vinegar sauces, but this was my first time trying a South Carolina mustard-based sauce. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Fabulous as is!! I love mustard sauces and since I started low carb needed something that would be low in sugar but good on all meats. This is it! I am baking chicken currently that is smothered in this sauce and have more in the fridge. Will be using it a lot! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I haven't even waited for it to cool down yet, and this has already revitalized my relationship with Dr. Atkins. This is phenomenal stuff. Thank you! P.S. I only did one tweak-- chipotle instead of cayenne and a half teaspoon of it instead of a quarter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Delicious:D Used white balsamic vinegar instead of cider vinegar. I cooked it all together and used it right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This sauce is wonderful. I did sweeten it up to make it more palatable for the kids but it's great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This recipe is a savior for low carb eaters. I loved it and will definitely be making it again. I'm going to try is with the a liquid "sugar" as well and see how that works. I omitted the liquid smoke because I didn't have it, still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This recipe was fantastic! I followed it exactly until after it was made (so the stars come from the original recipe). It was almost too spicy for me, but I loved the flavor...until the bite! I added a little more sugar and some molasses to try to cut the spice. Didn't help a whole lot, but it was still great! My husband loved it and my son said a little less spicy and it would be perfect. I plan on keeping a batch on hand at all times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmeakim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States