Carolina Country Style Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
All we could taste is the vinegar. I even cut down the vinegar after reading other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Vinegar will keep the meat from drying out. This is a very good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I had country style ribs and no recipe. This one looked good. I followed the recipe exactly, sans the cayanne pepper. My husband gave it a four, but I was not a fan of the heavy vinegar flavor. I added more molasses to the basting batch, but it didn't seem to help my tastebuds. I am a southern girl and that could be my reason for not liking the vinegar based BBQ. The ribs had great texture and cooked perfectly as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Was looking for a new way to prepare some country style ribs and hubby (over my shoulder) saw this one and thought it would be good. Seeing as how we had everything on hand I said "Oh why not". It was easy to prepare. I am startled that we did not like it more. I adore a vinegar based BBQ sauce but this is not what this is. It is a marinade. Very different. Not trying to be harsh but it was almost as if the ribs were pickeled somewhat. I will say that for some reason it was better lastnight when we had the left overs. So seeing as how Hubby picked it out I asked him to give it a star rating and he said 2. Still, it was not bad at all. It's just not our thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This sauce is very good and super easy! It's not a thick, tomato-based sauce, so don't expect that. I had never had vinegar-based bbq before, but I had some country style ribs, and my partner said it sounded good. We LOVED it! I am making it again tomorrow with pork spareribs. Yes, you must like vinegar to appreciate this sauce, but if you do, go ahead and try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Very Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Tender and tasty. I cooked these in my smoker for 7 hours and finished them off with my favorite BBQ sauce on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Not to bad. I have had better. I was looking forward to the taste. I prefer more of my southern bbq style ribs but thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*Morgan*~
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I was really disappointed with these! I followed the recipe to a T and I really love vinegar... but thats all I tasted!.. I think I would have added less vinegar and more molasses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Morgan*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Fairfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Portales, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Yum! My family won't be able to get to Carolina this year and I think I'm more upset about missing the bbq than the beach. This is an awesome substitute. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States