Carolina Country Style Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
All we could taste is the vinegar. I even cut down the vinegar after reading other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Vinegar will keep the meat from drying out. This is a very good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I had country style ribs and no recipe. This one looked good. I followed the recipe exactly, sans the cayanne pepper. My husband gave it a four, but I was not a fan of the heavy vinegar flavor. I added more molasses to the basting batch, but it didn't seem to help my tastebuds. I am a southern girl and that could be my reason for not liking the vinegar based BBQ. The ribs had great texture and cooked perfectly as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Was looking for a new way to prepare some country style ribs and hubby (over my shoulder) saw this one and thought it would be good. Seeing as how we had everything on hand I said "Oh why not". It was easy to prepare. I am startled that we did not like it more. I adore a vinegar based BBQ sauce but this is not what this is. It is a marinade. Very different. Not trying to be harsh but it was almost as if the ribs were pickeled somewhat. I will say that for some reason it was better lastnight when we had the left overs. So seeing as how Hubby picked it out I asked him to give it a star rating and he said 2. Still, it was not bad at all. It's just not our thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This sauce is very good and super easy! It's not a thick, tomato-based sauce, so don't expect that. I had never had vinegar-based bbq before, but I had some country style ribs, and my partner said it sounded good. We LOVED it! I am making it again tomorrow with pork spareribs. Yes, you must like vinegar to appreciate this sauce, but if you do, go ahead and try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Very Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Tender and tasty. I cooked these in my smoker for 7 hours and finished them off with my favorite BBQ sauce on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Not to bad. I have had better. I was looking forward to the taste. I prefer more of my southern bbq style ribs but thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*Morgan*~
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I was really disappointed with these! I followed the recipe to a T and I really love vinegar... but thats all I tasted!.. I think I would have added less vinegar and more molasses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Morgan*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Fairfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Portales, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Yum! My family won't be able to get to Carolina this year and I think I'm more upset about missing the bbq than the beach. This is an awesome substitute. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States