Carob Cake And Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SharleneE
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Awesome! Made this cake for my mother's 80 birthday. Followed the recipe as directed (minus the walnuts) in a 10" round aluminum cake pan. It was exceptionally moist with just the right amount of sweetness. It really didn't need any frosting, so just did a light dusting of powder. This recipe is a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharleneE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piggott, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I love this cake (so do my kids)! We have to stay away from chocolate, so this moist cake is just what we need. I didn't make the frosting due to lactose issues, so I can't rate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I used mashed pears instead of the banana. I didn't make the frosting. This had great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
GREAT recipe! If making for a diebetic use splenda instead of sugar works good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I made this cake and it was the best carob cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Next time I will try agave nectar intead of honey. I think it will taste more like real chocolate. I wish I could give 4.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
It was surprisingly GOOD! I used 1/3 cup honey and 1/3 cup molasses because my honey has a strong taste. I also added 1/4 cup of strong tea instead of banana. However, the frosting was a bit sweet to my taste... and the cake tasted great even without the frosting. Definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I love this recipe!! I add sweetened carob chips when I don't make the frosting for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This cake is delicious! I made it for my 23 year old son's birthday and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
My two year old came up to me and asked for chocolate cake. I don't let him have chocolate so I decided to try this recipe instead. Simply awesome. I used less honey and substituted with whole grain spelt flour. I also used canola oil instead of butter since he is lactose intolerant. He loved his "chocolate cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States