Carnitas Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
At the end we place ours in the oven makes the outside crispy. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was pretty good. I made it in the crock pot. I diced the onion & used a can of tomatoes because I didn't have a fresh tomato. When it was done cooking I took out the meat, diced it & put it back in the pot with the vegetables. Oh, and I used elk, not pork, but I think you could use beef, too. I served it over grits, but it would be good in tortillas or to make enchiladas. I served it with grits thinking it would be kind of like a tamale without all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I've never had carnitas filling before (I think), so the recipe came out a bit bland...BUT with other's recommendations, I revamped the recipe with 1 teaspoon of cumin, 2 TBSP adobo seasoning, a shake of red crushed peppers, 1 TBAP Sazon de Coxa con Achoite, 1 TBSP turmeric, 2 TBSP garlic powder, 3 low sodium beef broth cubes and when finished squeeze lime over top and sprinkle w/x-tra adobo seasoning. This made a world of difference. I made my own refried beans and added this meat mixture to the burrito as a filling with cheese. Froze these to make as a quick meal for kids/husband over summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fulsome-cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Made this three times before it was perfect. First time I followed the instructions, and it just was not tender enough, second time I put it in the crock pot, it was okay but not great. Third time I cooked it in my Dutch oven on the stove top for 6 hours, barely simmering,doubled the spices and reduced the water to only cover the pork (which I chopped into about two inch squares ), it is now one of our favorite recipes, husband asks for it regularly and I'm planning on making it for guests next weekend. With the modifications it gets 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Wonderful recipe! This was a huge hit at my latest party, and now I am making it for a friend's party, by request. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Spicy! I followed the ingredients but it turned out VERY spicy. May have been because I slow cooked it for like 8 hours. I didn't add the carrot or bay leaf. I will make this again but with less chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is a new family favorite! I throw this into the crockpot in the morning and by dinner time the house smells wonderful and the family running to the dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Carnitas Filling Haiku: "Smelled divine cooking. Easy prep, and tasted great. (I changed the method.)" Did mine in the crockpot all day til it shredded w/ ease, then baked the shredded pork for a little while to crisp it up. Dumped onto a tortilla w/ a squeeze of lime, cheese, onion, and tomato - wonderful! I'm anxious for leftovers, as I used a 3+ lb. pork butt, and I'm thinking of doing it in a burrito w/ some beans and and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This will be used often! I had a pack of boneless country ribs, so that's what I used, and will continue to use, it was amazing! I only changed a couple of things. I heated a splash of olive oil in my pan, covered the meat with chili powder & cumin and seared it first. Then added chopped green, red, yellow and orange peppers (about a third of each pepper) along with the rest of the ingredients. I used a little less salt than called for and simmered for an hour longer. I can't wait to make this for my mother when I visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I have made this many times with perfect results. Such an incredibly easy recipe! I serve with warm corn tortillas, sour cream, chopped cilantro, salsa, and jack cheese. I, too, fry up the meat after it has been cooked (a la "taco truck" style) to add a little crispiness to the pork. This is definitely a favorite in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States