Carnitas Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This is wonderful!!! My husband and I loved it!! Instead of cooking it on the stove I just threw it in my slow cooker all day and it just fell apart when we were ready for dinner. We just stuck it on some tortillas with cheese and avacados and it tasted wonderul!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I thought it was delicious. Sort of like Chipotle Grill, that fast food place, and their carnitas are very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Excellent recipe! Very delicious and easy. You definetly should try this one out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Incredible! I blended the leftover liquid to use as a sauce for my tamales. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
if there was 10 stars that would definetly be it. Extremely delicious! i shredded the pork for tostadas and topped it ith the mexican table cream. It was great! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Rivas aka Pablo's Hottie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Excellent recipe. I couldn't believe how easy it was and the ingredients are ones I always have around the house. The leftover cooking liquid and veggies I put in some ham/bean soup (because I hate to waste anything), yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was good. I added about a half cup to a cup of orange juice which added a nice hint of citrus in the pork. I also made it in a crockpot all day which made it extremely tender. Great with some cheese and sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I made this early in the day, but not early enough for my slow cooker. I added a little red pepper flake to it to give it a lil warmth, but could have put a little more. My husband made it home before I did and ate it like a soup (going back not only for seconds but thirds) and the rest of us ate it in tacos. Very tasty with a little homemade guacamole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I excluded the carrot and bay leaf, and instead, included a chopped pasilla chile (no seeds). And extra cumin. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I use the slow cooker too, and put all the seasonings in the pot. when I come home, the meat is easily shredded, but once shredded, I add some spices all over again. I usually add about 1T chili powder, salt and pepper to taste, and about 1/4+t cayenne (we like it spicy). It is ready for burritos. I also make extra, and separate some of the meat for tacos. For tacos, it is best to put the cooked meat with the after-added seasoning in the oven 325 degrees for about 15 minutes just to get the extra fat and juices off since you will be frying the meat in the taco shell anyway and the extra moisture gets the tortilla too soggy (even if you don't fry). It will store cooked for about 3 days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States