Carnitas Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This is wonderful!!! My husband and I loved it!! Instead of cooking it on the stove I just threw it in my slow cooker all day and it just fell apart when we were ready for dinner. We just stuck it on some tortillas with cheese and avacados and it tasted wonderul!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Loved this recipe! It made a perfect meal folr two. Ib added red crushed peppers and used 2/3 cup orange juice, 1/3 cup lime juice and added enough chicken broth to cover the meat. I also patted the Meat with the seasonings first then seared one side for a minute before adding the veggies and liquids. The quick sear locked the spices onto the meat and gave it a gorgeous brown color when done simmering. I then fried the meat in olive oil and used it in tacos - SO INCREADIBLE!!! Just top the tacos with diced onion and cilantro, then guacamole and lime juice. Oh I also added Adobo seasoning to the list of seasoning and to the shreaded meatv just before frying it. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Suggestion-I make a similar recipe but after boiling the meat, I shred it into a pan and brown it a bit to get that yummy flavor of a mexican restaurant/taco truck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Flavor was good but not strong enough. I doubled the recipe and cooked mine in the crock pot all day then shredded the meat and cooked it on the stovetop like others suggested. I added more seasoning as I cooked it on the stove but next time I will add a lot more since the meat was kind of bland. It has the potential of being a new staple in our family but needs to be tweaked a little for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Meat was very tender but all the spices/seasoning did not absorb into the meat.Meat was pretty bland. We used it to make soft tacos. I think i will re season the shredded pork tomorrow and simmer it with the soup/juices that it cooked in today until it reduces down.I think it would be great. Only prob with this recipe was lack of flavor in the pork. I will still make again with a lil alterations next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I use the slow cooker too, and put all the seasonings in the pot. when I come home, the meat is easily shredded, but once shredded, I add some spices all over again. I usually add about 1T chili powder, salt and pepper to taste, and about 1/4+t cayenne (we like it spicy). It is ready for burritos. I also make extra, and separate some of the meat for tacos. For tacos, it is best to put the cooked meat with the after-added seasoning in the oven 325 degrees for about 15 minutes just to get the extra fat and juices off since you will be frying the meat in the taco shell anyway and the extra moisture gets the tortilla too soggy (even if you don't fry). It will store cooked for about 3 days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Really great authentic flavor. I did this in the crock pot and doubled the seasoning amounts. I cut the meat in chunks and fried it in a little butter and oil to get that characteristic carnitas texture. I drained the veggies and poured the juice in the frying pan with the meat and let it reduce. We ate this in corn tortillas. The hubby thought he'd died and gone to heaven. He suggested that it would make a great smothered burrito filling if I didn't fry it. So we pureed the remaining veggies with some broth, added a little salsa picante (Tapatio,) and made a sauce. Had smothered burritos the next day for lunch- it was delicious! Next time I'll pull the carrots out before I puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoDoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I made this early in the day, but not early enough for my slow cooker. I added a little red pepper flake to it to give it a lil warmth, but could have put a little more. My husband made it home before I did and ate it like a soup (going back not only for seconds but thirds) and the rest of us ate it in tacos. Very tasty with a little homemade guacamole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Excellent recipe. I couldn't believe how easy it was and the ingredients are ones I always have around the house. The leftover cooking liquid and veggies I put in some ham/bean soup (because I hate to waste anything), yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My husband LOVES carnitas! This recipe was good, but we felt it could have been outstanding. My usual recipe is 1 large spanish onion cut into wedges and seperated by segments, 1tbsp of tumric, 2 tbsp adobo, 1 tsp cumin, 2 tbsp garlic powder, 1 tbsp sazon de goya con achote, 3 low sodium beef broth cubes, 6 cups of water, and a 1lb pork shoulder roast. Combine all ingredients in a large stock pot and bring to a boil. Cover and simmer on medium low head for 2 to 5 hours. When a fork can easily be inserted into the meat and it is seperationg from the bone it is ready. drain excess liquid and shred. place in a baking pan, bake at 400 for 10-15 min. squeeze fresh lime over the top sprinkle with additional adobo and serve with tortillas and yellow rice. Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States