Carne Guisada III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This recipe was very good. I've learned from past experiences that Sazon and Adobo seasoning are basically seasoning salts. So using tomato sauce w/o salt is good, and/or omitting the extra salt "to taste" or even cutting the adobo seasoning in 1/4-1/2 the amount helps out. As a shortcut I boiled the meat for 30 min, then added the potatoes and cooked until tender; it turned out wonderful and saved me 30 min. This is definitely a keeper for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This recipe brought me back! My parents are from Puerto Rico and it reminded me of my younger days! I followed everything but omitted the salt. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMENAIDE
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Perfect, I did not add any additional salt as I felt it had enough sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
My husband and I really enjoyed this (his family is Puerto Rican) although I did find it a little salty, we didn't share with friends as we sometimes do - it was So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
This recipe is easy to follow and the taste was fantastic! I do however agree with the other reviewers to eliminate the extra salt. Having lived in Puerto Rico, it's nice to find recipes that are authentic and not too "touched" up---which changes to dish entirely! Thanks for sharing! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Very Good!! Like other reviewers said, it's a little on the salty side so DON'T add extra salt. You might also want to cut the adobo seasoning in half. I love salty food and it was just a touch too salty for me even. I will cut back on the adobo next time. It was SO delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nitro, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I followed the directions to a tee except I used canned potatoes because I hate peeling them. This was easy and it is so tasty. I found a new dish that even I can cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Omitted the salt as suggested by most and used only one pound of meat because i like the extra sauce. Served with white rice and tostones. Otherwise followed recipe as written. It was very good, very authentic, not salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Had never had this recipe before. Made the Sofrito sauce from scratch and the dish had a great flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This meal was delicious. I added a little more tomatoe sauce and sofrito to my preference and I sprinkled salt. My husband who is PR loved it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States