Carne Guisada III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Very Good!! Like other reviewers said, it's a little on the salty side so DON'T add extra salt. You might also want to cut the adobo seasoning in half. I love salty food and it was just a touch too salty for me even. I will cut back on the adobo next time. It was SO delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nitro, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Omitted the salt as suggested by most and used only one pound of meat because i like the extra sauce. Served with white rice and tostones. Otherwise followed recipe as written. It was very good, very authentic, not salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Perfect, I did not add any additional salt as I felt it had enough sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
My husband and I really enjoyed this (his family is Puerto Rican) although I did find it a little salty, we didn't share with friends as we sometimes do - it was So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This recipe was very good. I've learned from past experiences that Sazon and Adobo seasoning are basically seasoning salts. So using tomato sauce w/o salt is good, and/or omitting the extra salt "to taste" or even cutting the adobo seasoning in 1/4-1/2 the amount helps out. As a shortcut I boiled the meat for 30 min, then added the potatoes and cooked until tender; it turned out wonderful and saved me 30 min. This is definitely a keeper for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
This recipe is easy to follow and the taste was fantastic! I do however agree with the other reviewers to eliminate the extra salt. Having lived in Puerto Rico, it's nice to find recipes that are authentic and not too "touched" up---which changes to dish entirely! Thanks for sharing! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I followed the directions to a tee except I used canned potatoes because I hate peeling them. This was easy and it is so tasty. I found a new dish that even I can cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This recipe brought me back! My parents are from Puerto Rico and it reminded me of my younger days! I followed everything but omitted the salt. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMENAIDE
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Had never had this recipe before. Made the Sofrito sauce from scratch and the dish had a great flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This meal was delicious. I added a little more tomatoe sauce and sofrito to my preference and I sprinkled salt. My husband who is PR loved it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States