Carne Guisada III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is a great recipe.. takes a little patience because if you do it just right the flavor will be incredible. I have made this recipe for family and friends and everyone has raved at how good it comes out.. definite 5 stars!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Good recipe reminded me of how my mom makes it... i did not wait an hour like it said i really do not know why???? i left like 10-15 min and added the potatoes and waited for them to be done and i added the adobo directly on the beef...other than that great dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nego

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was a delicious meat dish. I used Softito recipe from Fivebrigs. Very easy to make and not expensive. Sure I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by 79SHALE97
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
A pot of this is simmering as I type. While living in NYC back in 2000, I had this dish for the first time and instantly fell in love. After moving back to AZ I couldnt for the life of me remember the name of it, but I did remember it was a Latin stew. As always, I rearranged the recipe to fit what types of ingredients I have on hand. Didnt have the sofrito sauce or the adobo and sazon seasonings. Since these are extremely high in sodium, I figured no harm/no foul. For the seasonings..I added minced garlic, ground cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, dried oregano, mrs dash, and fresh cracked sea salt and pepper. For the tomato base...2 cans of tomato sauce, 1 can tomato paste, 1 can diced green chile peppers, and 1 can rotel tomatoes. I added my seasoning mixture to this tomato base and let it simmer in a large pot for 10 minutes. In saute pan, I browned 2 lbs of stew meat seasoned with flour, mrs dash, cumin, and chili powder. I added the meat to the tomato mixture and I'm gonna let it simmer for about a few hours and the last hour add some cubed red potato and some sliced carrots..cooking until the potatoes are tender. Serving with Habichuelas Guisadas and rice. I will update with the taste results once dinner is served! Update - Turned out fantastic!! The fam gobbled it up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Great recipe. I've made the recipe many times now and my family really enjoys it. It reminds me of a dish my mother-in-law (who's no longer with us) used to make. Sometimes I add carrots to the dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. I added a few things and cut down on others, I guess it is just up to someone's taste preferences. Overall I would recommend this recipe to anyone that loves Carne Guisada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made this dish for the first time and it was excellent my grandmother use to make all these great dishes when I was younger and she is no longer with us..I am so happy with this site..When I cook these dishes it bring me back to the time when she was here...so thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
My family enjoys this meal often. I add a dash more oregano, some corn, carrots and peas to give it an even heartier taste. I sprinkle some fresh chopped cilantro on top of each serving. WONDERFUL TASTE AND SMELL THROUGHOUT HOUSE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Wow this is just like we eat in puerto rico at abuela's house. I did add some fresh cilantro in place of recaio. Otherwise, follow this recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teena1015

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I can say it came out really good, I also add it cut tomato...and it gave that that extra kick.. thank you for your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randallstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States