Carne Guisada III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I gave it 4 stars because I don't eat beef! I added Adobo to the meat and let it sit overnight. I seared the meat after sprinkling with flour. I then added the rest of the ingredients and also added beef bullion and diced tomatoes. The potatoes will take some of the salt taste away. My family would like for me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is so yummy! I have made it several times and it is always a hit. I use the low sodium adobo and tomatoes and serve with rice.. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Just how I do it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bandidalinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I omitted the salt and added Carrots, chopped onions, one cup of water and cooked it on low heat for 5 hours in my Dutch oven. Meat was very tender and good. I would like to see a recipe for arroz con gandules.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was perfect! Big hit - I cheated and cooked it in the crock pot over night - turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
There was not enough sauce to go with the meat and potatoes. I had to double all the ingredients except the meat. It was also way to salty. This is not a true puerto rician dish. This tasted horrible and I didn't even add the salt when it said salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
The longer you cook the more tender your meat chunks become. I make a guisada similar to this. My PR relative adds Goya capers and olivers and a cup of red wine> delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Carmel, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe!! I found it bored one day taking care of my grandmother with brain cancer who is a very picky eater. She turned her nose up to it when I was explaining what it was to her, but once it started cooking and was done that all changed!! She has requested it several times in the past few months. Only changes i made was I buy the tom thumb premarinated packaged carne asada and cook it in a slow cooker on high for 2hours and low for 2 more hours. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent Pigrenet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I tried this about a month ago. It was fantastic and I will be making it again this week. My bf is P.Rican- he also loved it. The meat is very tender and the spices make it very appetizing. It isn't very expensive to make, assuming you already have most of the spices. My bf's mom makes sofrito on a regular basis and always gives me a big container of it. I put about 1/3 cup into individual plastic bags, refreeze, and use whenever I need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is a very solid recipe. I'm Puerto Rican and this is a very basic and solid Guisada recipe. Of course everyones family has their own version but this is, but I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States