Carne Guisada III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This was just what I was looking for! A friend of mine recently made this for me and I loved it so much but she did not want to reveal the recipe when I asked for it! I knew I could count on allrecipes to find something. I made this as written but also added about 4oz. manzanilla olives and 7oz. pigeon peas, which my friend also included in her guisada - sounds like an odd combination (which I also thought at first) but it tastes great. Although I don't mind salty dishes, this was a little too much on the salty side so next time will use tomato sauce without salt added, as someone else suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
My family & I love this recipe. Easy to make. We love sofrito, so I add more than what is listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I have had this dish with Spanish friends. I followed this recipe and it was outstanding. I cooked it in the slow cooker like other reviewers - also used Crockpot Liners from Reynolds - easy clean up. I accidentally bought Recaito Seasoning from Goya (thinking it was Sazon). But it worked just as well. I also pureed some Italian pepper, green pepper & red pepper to kick up the heat a little. Fivebrigs, please add more recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This was really good. I made it in the crock pot and cooked it on low for 6 hours. I also made white rice to go with it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Great recipe! Simple to make, did take others advice and reduced the salt (adobo & sazon) by half. Cooked in the slow cooker on high for six hours, added potatoes last hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I found that reducing the adobo and salt was very helpful like others suggested. My boyfried and I loved this dish! I added onion and bellpepper and served over rice w/ flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
i love carne guisada and this is the best i've ever tasted. i live in brownsville, texas - very close to the mexican border and so there's many authentic mexican restaurants around here. to be honest with ya'll this recipe is more delicious than the carne guisada here in town. i took the advise of the other reviewers - i didn't use salt at all since the other ingredients have plenty of salt in it. Also I boiled the meat for 30-45 min and it came out great and tender. my hubby and friend really really love this recipe. i served it with spanish rice, re-fried beans, and guacamole. it was GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I have been making carne guisada forever but it is never consistent. This recipe uses the same ingredients that I use except that now I know how much or how little or something I need to put. As for the other ratings I agree that salt is not neccessary. I am originally puerto rican and cook puerto rican food almost everyday and I never use salt. This is a great recipe and I hope to see more like this on allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This was really good. A little too salty for me but my husband devoured it! Next time I'll decrease the sazon which is very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Oh this was just like my grandmother made me when I was little. The whole house smelled like it. Great recipe! Meat was very tender too and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States