Carne Guisada III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have used this recipe multiple times, such great puertorican flavor! I have cooked it with beef stew and pork chops too, works well with either, I also throw in a chopped onion for more flavor, thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I am Puerto Rican and let me tell you this recipe is GREAT! The only adjustments I made were that I doubled the tomato sauce, I browned the meat as suggested and then lowered the heat to simmer for 2-3 hours so the meat comes out tender. Also, I added all veggies as I was browning the meat so they could soak up the flavors and my veggies never come out mushy. I make some white rice on the side and you can also make some plantains as a side dish either sweet or not. For those saying it is too salty well Latin food is very flavorful, this dish doesn't really require you to use salt if you opt not to or taste the sauce as it cooks (once you meat is cooked) and add as you go along. A BIG BIG BIG thank you to FIVEBRIGS for posting this, it has become a family favorite!! I wish I could post a pic, but I made 3 pounds of stew last night and there are no leftovers ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Use a crock pot and add carrots. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Morton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I don't understand how I would brown the meat in the sauce, so will sear the meat first, remove it from the pan, and then cook the sauce and proceed. I can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I'm from PR and this was very close to my mom's recipe; except for the saltiness. Next time I'm going to use low salt options, if available, i.e., tomato sauce. I'm hoping to find low salt versions of the Goya Sazon packets and the Adobo seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1964arrieta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Well, this recipe managed to impress our most picky eater in the family, although I had to make several alterations to the recipe to fit our dietary requirements. I left out the potatoes because we have to watch our carbs, and I also substituted venison for the beef for cholesterol purposes. I added a chopped onion and jalapeno just for texture, and I also put in a few tsps of adobo sauce for extra heat. It seems like a lot of changes, but I'm sure they did minimal to the overall taste of the recipe as written. I will DEFINITELY be making this again and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I've made this in the slow cooker exactly like the recipe and it came out great the kids and husband loved it. Taste just like my mother use to make when I was small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I gave it 4 stars because I don't eat beef! I added Adobo to the meat and let it sit overnight. I seared the meat after sprinkling with flour. I then added the rest of the ingredients and also added beef bullion and diced tomatoes. The potatoes will take some of the salt taste away. My family would like for me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is so yummy! I have made it several times and it is always a hit. I use the low sodium adobo and tomatoes and serve with rice.. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Just how I do it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bandidalinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States