Carne Guisada III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
A wonderful recipe. The only thing is it was a tad too salty but i think that was my fault and not the recipe. I made a minor modification to the recipe in that i salted and peppered the steak and browned it in the pot before i did anything else (in batches) and i think this is where the majority of the salt came from. I also added a touch to much water and during the last 30 minutes (when you put in the potatoes) i left the lid partially uncovered. I guess it depends if you want more of a soup or a gravy. I wanted a gravy. My wife absolutely loved this dish. I made it with Arroz con gandules. This recipe will for sure be added to my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
My boyfriend is Puerto Rican and he misses tasting food from home. I have been trying different recipes to help him get over his cravings. He loved this one. The only thing he said was missing is some caramelized onions. So next time I will add onions. Thank you for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Mine came out like beef stew. Don't get me wrong still delicious. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
The recipe was easy to follow, and the food came out great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Like everyone else says, don't add the extra salt. You don't really need it. Also I added a can of dark beer when the meat was cooking to tenderize it a little. Overall, my friends think I'm a genius at cooking because of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have used this recipe multiple times, such great puertorican flavor! I have cooked it with beef stew and pork chops too, works well with either, I also throw in a chopped onion for more flavor, thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I am Puerto Rican and let me tell you this recipe is GREAT! The only adjustments I made were that I doubled the tomato sauce, I browned the meat as suggested and then lowered the heat to simmer for 2-3 hours so the meat comes out tender. Also, I added all veggies as I was browning the meat so they could soak up the flavors and my veggies never come out mushy. I make some white rice on the side and you can also make some plantains as a side dish either sweet or not. For those saying it is too salty well Latin food is very flavorful, this dish doesn't really require you to use salt if you opt not to or taste the sauce as it cooks (once you meat is cooked) and add as you go along. A BIG BIG BIG thank you to FIVEBRIGS for posting this, it has become a family favorite!! I wish I could post a pic, but I made 3 pounds of stew last night and there are no leftovers ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Use a crock pot and add carrots. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Morton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I don't understand how I would brown the meat in the sauce, so will sear the meat first, remove it from the pan, and then cook the sauce and proceed. I can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I'm from PR and this was very close to my mom's recipe; except for the saltiness. Next time I'm going to use low salt options, if available, i.e., tomato sauce. I'm hoping to find low salt versions of the Goya Sazon packets and the Adobo seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1964arrieta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States