Carne Guisada I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
A true tex-mex recipe If you know what carne guisada is then this is the real mcoy if you don't know this is the way to find out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Nahh, this ain't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
I used 3 tsp. of ground cumin and 2 x-large or 3 small garlic cloves, minced. Plus I added 1 tsp garlic powder. Also, 1 Green Pablano Chile instead of 2 jalapenos makes this recipe child friendly. I love this recipe though! Thanks Mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
my whole family really enjoyed this, I cooked it in the pan like it said and then threw it all together in my crock pot and went Christmas shopping and after a long day we came home to the wonderful aroma and all we had to do was fix our plates. How wonderful was that??? only downfall was it wasn't as spicy as I woudl have liked so next time I will add an extra jalepeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Yes, this was unlike any other Carne Guisada I had ever had. Much more tomatoey. But what ever you call it, it is absolutely delicious. I will cook it over and over again. I served it with flour tortillas and it was a huge hit with my family. You must like tomaotes! I omited the shortening and just used Pam cooking spray. After living in South Texas for many years this was a refreshing version of Carne Guisada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I used this recipe as a starting point. Used about 3lbs of wild pork instead of beef, 2 1/2 tsps cumin, 1 tsp chili powder, and a can of Rotel tomatoes & chilis instead of the fresh tomatoes. It was awesome! Note: If you omit the cumin, it AIN'T Carne Guisada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
This is a Really good recipe! I let it simmer for about an hour and a half. But, I'm sure just an hour would be ok : ) my husband and 8 year old really like it when I make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
One of my favorite recipes....I make this as printed and we all love it. Delicious.......updated! I just made this again and I used the can of rotel tomatoes instead of the fresh ones and I also added Chili powder and a tad bit extra cumin. I also cut up the stewed tomatoes. Thanks for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I've had this dish served in Texas in many places known for Carne Guisada and this recipe doesn't even resemble it. I followed the directions to the letter, but was tough and the dish on the whole was bland and runny. I tried to thicken it up some with arrowroot and water but that just made it slimy. I hate to say it, but look elsewhere for a passable version of this dish; I know I shall. You just cannot get slow-cooked/braised tenderness in 30-60 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAmEm2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
Awesome! Though it is a little hot. If you want it less so, use 1 jalapeno instead of 2. I served this with corn tortillas and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Burrito Pie

This spicy casserole features layers of seasoned beef, beans, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States