Carne Guisada I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
OK - this was delicious and easy! I didn't seem to have much gravy but that was fine because it would've been too soupy to put in our corn tortillas. I simmered for more like 3 or 4 hours though because at 1 hour the meat was still tough. I also didn't put in the fresh tomatoes - I put them over the finished product with a little sour cream. Great dish - will be making again. Maybe I'll try it in the crockpot next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Very good! I served it with flour tortillas, sour cream, and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I used this recipe as a starting point. Used about 3lbs of wild pork instead of beef, 2 1/2 tsps cumin, 1 tsp chili powder, and a can of Rotel tomatoes & chilis instead of the fresh tomatoes. It was awesome! Note: If you omit the cumin, it AIN'T Carne Guisada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This stew is average at best. It's hearty and tastes well enough, but it's not something I'd go out of my way to make again. To be better I think it needs more herbs and spices - though that may take the "mexicanity" out of it. I'd add some oregano, paprika, more garlic (or garlic powder), maybe a pinch of sugar and bay leaves. As it is, I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
This is a Really good recipe! I let it simmer for about an hour and a half. But, I'm sure just an hour would be ok : ) my husband and 8 year old really like it when I make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
IT was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
Mmmm, Mmmmm Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
A true tex-mex recipe If you know what carne guisada is then this is the real mcoy if you don't know this is the way to find out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2001
Served over rice,omitted cumin and fresh tomatoes. Tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
I used 3 tsp. of ground cumin and 2 x-large or 3 small garlic cloves, minced. Plus I added 1 tsp garlic powder. Also, 1 Green Pablano Chile instead of 2 jalapenos makes this recipe child friendly. I love this recipe though! Thanks Mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Burrito Pie

This spicy casserole features layers of seasoned beef, beans, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States