Carne Con Papas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
The broth for this dish is EXCELLENT. I will use it for many other types of stew. Let me say, however, that I did not use a pressure cooker (don't have one), and I did not add achiote powder (have no idea what that is). We had unexpected company for dinner just as the dish was done, and everyone -- all 8 of them -- LOVED it. They loved the broth the most. (I used venison rather than beef, and about 6 potatoes rather than 2.) I served it with a side of freshly baked sourdough bread, and apple dumplings(recipe found here)for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
Wonderful blend of flavors. Easy to make. It's now a favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Hi everyone, I didn't realized my recipe made it here. Just a note: You can store the green pepper mixture in a tupperware in the fridge for up to 3 weeks and use it whenever sofrito or onion etc is needed. In place of achiote you can use saffron or azafaron. These are cuban spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
This worked well using my slow cooker while I was gone for the day. We opened the door to a lovely aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2001
Excellent Cuban recipe. The only change to make it authentic is not to blend the vegetables. Leave them in 1" strips. Also, you'll want to add frozen peas. One tip: serve in the sauce. Do not drain it. Allow everyone to serve themselves so they can get as much sauce as they want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This dish was EXCELLENT. NOTE: I DID NOT USE A PRESSURE COOKER. I just don't have one, but I think it was better because I could simmer it for 1 1/2-2 hrs and let the meat get tender some steam escape,and the mmmm... Gravy form. My husband (Mexican) loved it, ALTHOUGH, he insists its actually a Mexican Dish..;)LOL. Anyhow, my kitchen never smelled so good. Thanks so much for the Recipe. Its a Keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This was great although next time I will use only 4 cups of water for 12 servings instead of 8. I also added the potatoes at the end and cooked till soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was delicious! I cut down the water to 2 cups, added about 2 tablespoons of corn starch to a little bit of cold water and mixed it into the sauce before cooking, and put everything into the slow cooker for the day, as I do not have a pressure cooker. The meat was so tender! Next time I'll add some frozen peas, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Excellent recipe. We're Colombian so this kind of meal reminds us of home because it's similar to our dishes. For anyone who cannot find achiote, just go to the Latino or Mexican section of your grocery store and buy the achiote packets from Goya, they're usually in an orange box and some even say "achiote & cilantro". Anyway, that's what I used, 1 packet = 1 tablespoon. I added two more russet potatoes because just two is not enough. Also, the amount of water is just right, you want this to be a little soupy because it's not supposed to be a thick stew but more of a "sancocho" which is watery/soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda L
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
DELICIOUS!!! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States