Carne Con Papas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Hi everyone, I didn't realized my recipe made it here. Just a note: You can store the green pepper mixture in a tupperware in the fridge for up to 3 weeks and use it whenever sofrito or onion etc is needed. In place of achiote you can use saffron or azafaron. These are cuban spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This dish was EXCELLENT. NOTE: I DID NOT USE A PRESSURE COOKER. I just don't have one, but I think it was better because I could simmer it for 1 1/2-2 hrs and let the meat get tender some steam escape,and the mmmm... Gravy form. My husband (Mexican) loved it, ALTHOUGH, he insists its actually a Mexican Dish..;)LOL. Anyhow, my kitchen never smelled so good. Thanks so much for the Recipe. Its a Keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2001
Excellent Cuban recipe. The only change to make it authentic is not to blend the vegetables. Leave them in 1" strips. Also, you'll want to add frozen peas. One tip: serve in the sauce. Do not drain it. Allow everyone to serve themselves so they can get as much sauce as they want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This recipe is pretty spot on. I've been making this forever. When you grow up Cuban it is mandatory to know this recipe. I just wanted to let everyone know that achiote is just yellow coloring. The spice in it won't make or break your recipe. Follow this recipe (plus or minus the water amount - you'll only know after the first try) and add the yellow food coloring last. Add 5-7 drops. Like mom said 'al ojo' which means eyeball it. Additionally, if you do find that your recipe is too watery then add about a teaspoon of cornstarch. My mom has also thickened it by grating about 1/8 of a potato. Again, not an accurate measurement. Apparently when she grew up measuring spoons and cups were just a new fad they never thought would catch on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendyliz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
This was very tasty and fairly easy to make. I served it over steamed rice and my husband really liked it. The Oriental/Filipino market in our area has the Achiote powder. It's called Mama Sita's Annatto All-Natural Food Color. I read the other reviews and cut the water down to two cups and I added the potatoes towards the end and cooked it another 5 minutes in the pressure cooker. It still had a lot of liquid left so I think next time I'll cut it down to 1 1/2 cups water instead of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
This worked well using my slow cooker while I was gone for the day. We opened the door to a lovely aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
The broth for this dish is EXCELLENT. I will use it for many other types of stew. Let me say, however, that I did not use a pressure cooker (don't have one), and I did not add achiote powder (have no idea what that is). We had unexpected company for dinner just as the dish was done, and everyone -- all 8 of them -- LOVED it. They loved the broth the most. (I used venison rather than beef, and about 6 potatoes rather than 2.) I served it with a side of freshly baked sourdough bread, and apple dumplings(recipe found here)for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
Wonderful blend of flavors. Easy to make. It's now a favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I loooove my Cuban Mother-in-Law's Carne con Papas, but, Darn it, she will not make them on-demand.... This came sooooo close to my Mother-in-Law's, that the first time I made it my husband thought I had frozen some of his mom's Carne con Papas and defrosted it for dinner. I have made mine many times in the slow cooker, High setting 5 hours. For those of you that find this bland, you have to realize that cuban food is not meant to be spicy like mexican food. Otherwise, there is plenty of flavor here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZeeMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very good recipie and done the traditional way. If you are in a spanish community, you can use "Cooking Wine" instead of white. You can also make this in a dutch oven and just cook about an hour or two. It pretty much like beef stew. Like in any other culture, there is usually very few measurements in cooking Cuban food, we ususally eyeball it. Also, if you like, you can add green olives and bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Celebration, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States