Carne Con Papas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Alaena39
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This recipe won me over with its authenticity to a Cuban dish. Very good stuff, however, I did make some changes because some things were strange to me and I can see how one person thought the potatoes came out overdone. Ok, first of all...cannot find achiote powder? Why not try this. Skip the salt and use Sazon Goya (Cuban seasoning packets) that include Azafran (food coloring). If your local supermarket carries it, you will find it in the ethnic isle. I halved the recipe and used about 1/4 of the packet, given it can carry a kick. Feel free to add more or less to suit your taste. Use food coloring when all else fails. Ok, now here are the changes. 1. The pressure cooker time given here and in my instruction booklet I felt was too much so I put in the water, meat and bullion cubes (given that bullion cubes are different, make sure to use as much as it indicates for the water you put in)into the pressure cooker for 20 min. and it was already cooked throughout. You can always add more water and put it back on if its not done. 2. While the meat was cooking, I diced the bell pepper and onion and sauted in a small frying pan with the olive oil until it was soft. I put on simmer and added the tomato sauce, minced garlic (I use pre-minced garlic in a jar) and the spices. 3. When the meat was done, I added in the cooking white wine and potatoes that I cut up in small chunks so that they are ready quickly. Now its a 5/5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was delicious! I cut down the water to 2 cups, added about 2 tablespoons of corn starch to a little bit of cold water and mixed it into the sauce before cooking, and put everything into the slow cooker for the day, as I do not have a pressure cooker. The meat was so tender! Next time I'll add some frozen peas, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This recipe is pretty spot on. I've been making this forever. When you grow up Cuban it is mandatory to know this recipe. I just wanted to let everyone know that achiote is just yellow coloring. The spice in it won't make or break your recipe. Follow this recipe (plus or minus the water amount - you'll only know after the first try) and add the yellow food coloring last. Add 5-7 drops. Like mom said 'al ojo' which means eyeball it. Additionally, if you do find that your recipe is too watery then add about a teaspoon of cornstarch. My mom has also thickened it by grating about 1/8 of a potato. Again, not an accurate measurement. Apparently when she grew up measuring spoons and cups were just a new fad they never thought would catch on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendyliz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
A good old meat and potatoes stew. Taste was excellent, but I did cut the water out almost completely. Served over rice. The local Asian grocery store had the achiote, although I had to grind the seeds myself. Its sold in a yellow package under the brand name "D&D Gold Products Corp." Santa Ana, California.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This is a very good recipe with easy to understand directions. The potatoes however should be added near the end of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
This worked well using my slow cooker while I was gone for the day. We opened the door to a lovely aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This was great although next time I will use only 4 cups of water for 12 servings instead of 8. I also added the potatoes at the end and cooked till soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This dish was EXCELLENT. NOTE: I DID NOT USE A PRESSURE COOKER. I just don't have one, but I think it was better because I could simmer it for 1 1/2-2 hrs and let the meat get tender some steam escape,and the mmmm... Gravy form. My husband (Mexican) loved it, ALTHOUGH, he insists its actually a Mexican Dish..;)LOL. Anyhow, my kitchen never smelled so good. Thanks so much for the Recipe. Its a Keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
This was very tasty and fairly easy to make. I served it over steamed rice and my husband really liked it. The Oriental/Filipino market in our area has the Achiote powder. It's called Mama Sita's Annatto All-Natural Food Color. I read the other reviews and cut the water down to two cups and I added the potatoes towards the end and cooked it another 5 minutes in the pressure cooker. It still had a lot of liquid left so I think next time I'll cut it down to 1 1/2 cups water instead of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
We really looked forward to this one. There are so few pressure cooker recipes on this resource.The reviews made us yearn. Sadly we could not have been more disappointed.Achiote not found, we used Annato,(search engine says it is same(?).We used red sangria wine as were out of white.Recipe divides salt but does not use 2nd half (we tossed it in). No way that all the liquid (5 cups) would fit in the 3/4 safety zone of pressure cooker. We cut back to 3 cups water(still was too much).We used powdered bouillon instead of cubes. Our opinion Color=EXC. Taste=Bland Texture=Too thin and a little oily, (We thickened with flour to little avail). We used 3 cubed potatos and they were terribly overcooked after the 40 min. at 15 lbs pressure.The blended trinity of bell pepper, garlic & onion was exciting and we will utilize that method in further stew/chili/soup concoctions.We just need to find a better flavor spice base and will keep trying. If the stuff had worked we were gonna call it Guantanamo Stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States