Carne Con Papas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very good recipie and done the traditional way. If you are in a spanish community, you can use "Cooking Wine" instead of white. You can also make this in a dutch oven and just cook about an hour or two. It pretty much like beef stew. Like in any other culture, there is usually very few measurements in cooking Cuban food, we ususally eyeball it. Also, if you like, you can add green olives and bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Celebration, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This was so good, and fun to make. My husband even said it might the best meal I have ever cooked! I have cooked for him almost everyday for 9 years!! I served it with white rice and black beans. So impressive! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This is dish is delicious! I dont have a pressure cooker so I made it on the stove. This dish was just as good as the one my bff cuban mom used to make us in miami. Thank you for this recipe its very very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I love this recipe although I do think it is way too much water and too many beef bouillons... makes it very salty... I use alot let water and about 2 bouillons, maybe 3... other than that it is delicious and i love soft potatoes with my carne con papas...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I have to admit, that as a Cuban from Miami, I had low expectations. I was so pleasantly surprised! This had great flavor and texture and was pretty easy to make. I got rave reviews from 9 people at dinner, and everybody (from the 10-month-old baby to the picky 9- and 11-year-olds to the grandparents) loved this! This will definitely be in my go-to recipe file!!! I made the recipe exactly as stated, and don't think I'd change a thing when making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was good. I had everything on hand. I added green beans. I served it over rice. It reminded me of a beef stew. I will make again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
We used turmeric instead of achiote and it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Letter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was pretty good. I followed the recipe exactly, even making a trip to the store just to get the achiote powder which i found with no problem in the latin/mexican food section.This was very soupy but thickened up nicely after 2.5 hrs of simmering. Cooked in a regular pot with no problem as i do not have a pressure cooker. The only thing i would do different next time is to add a jalepeno to the pepper/onion mixture. I thought it desperatley needed some heat. I will keep this recipe handy. We really liked it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda L
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
DELICIOUS!!! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Excellent recipe. We're Colombian so this kind of meal reminds us of home because it's similar to our dishes. For anyone who cannot find achiote, just go to the Latino or Mexican section of your grocery store and buy the achiote packets from Goya, they're usually in an orange box and some even say "achiote & cilantro". Anyway, that's what I used, 1 packet = 1 tablespoon. I added two more russet potatoes because just two is not enough. Also, the amount of water is just right, you want this to be a little soupy because it's not supposed to be a thick stew but more of a "sancocho" which is watery/soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States