Carne Con Chilies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Pretty good. The tomatillos makes the texture a little mealy for my taste so maybe less of that, but otherwise very good sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Awesome dish!! Everyone loved it! I did some minor changes to the dish, I added cilantro and some onions to the green sauce it was fabulous! Would make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was incredible! I used a pork roast instead, put it all in the crock pot and let it simmer all day. I didn't have the jalepeno or red chile peppers, I chopped a half a green pepper instead, and a small red onion chopped. I also added cumin to the seasoning. After I dished it up, I topped with shredded pepper jack cheese, sour cream, then served with warm tortillas. Absolutely divine! My hubby has asked me to make this every week. Can Do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Really fast and easy to make. It was too sour for me so I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I am giving this recipe 5 stars because I read the reviews and actually made this with a bit of trepidation. I wasn't sure what to expect. I used tomatillos and jalapenos from my garden, but when I went to go get a tomato, it just wasn't quite ripe enough, so I used part of a can of diced, fire roasted tomatoes instead. I also threw in a tiny orange pepper that I pillaged from the garden, just for variety. I really wasn't sure what to expect. I gave my husband the first plate with a heated flour tortilla and he DEVOURED it! So I took a nibble and this is so freaking good!!! Thanks for submitting this most awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very typical |Mexican dish, though I would strain the chili after blending it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windtraveler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Celaya, Guanajuato, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Not an amazing recipe but still good. The lime taste was a bit overwhelming, so I will probably cut back on the amount of juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookwormans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I omitted 2 red peppers, and only used half of the jalapenos. I enjoy spicy things while my husband doesn't. I thought that it was WAY to spicy and had very sour flavor. My husband really liked it though. I also enjoy tomatillos- but this recipe just didn't work for me. My hubby really enjoyed it- he actually asked for me to cook it again. After dumping a bunch of salt on the finished product it tasted better to me... but then I felt guilty for eating it because I was sure my blood pressure would rise :) Not sure if the tomatillos were bad or what. Prob. will not make again. Thanks for the recipe though. I hope other enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I used a pork roast and a crock pot. I did cook the sauce as directed. I did not add it uncooked as one reviewer suggests. Delicious with tortillas, beans and rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I had such high hopes for this recipe. I went to the store and bought special ingredients for it and everything. Unfortunately, it did not live up to my expectations. My husband's comment was "What is this? Tomato sauce?" :( I noticed the sauce got better the longer it simmered (I simmered mine on the stove for a couple of hours), but still was missing something. The meat was tasty though. Oh well, I might try it again, but shred it and use it for tacos or burritos with extras like sour cream and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States