Carne Con Chilies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
My family absolutely loved this, I wouldn't change a thing. I used canned tomatillos and tomatoes as that's what I had on hand. The sauce is very versatile and it would be a great topping for smothered burritos. 4/25/06- I had to edit the review to add that I made the sauce and poured over boneless pork chops in a slow cooker for 8 hours on low, then shredded the meat and served as tacos...AWESOME! Family loves the recipe both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
Fast and easy, a delicious meal. I added one large green bell pepper, in slices, to the pan to simmer with the meat and sauce and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
This is just such an excellent recipe. I had some leftover smoked pork shoulder that I used insead of the pork chops and, being a homesick Texan, I had to add a couple more serranos and a handful of fresh cilantro, but that was. You must try this recipe. Thank you so much Chriszee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wainy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
We tried this and thought is was awesome. My husband and I love spicy food and we ate this up. I followed another reviewers comment and didn't precook the sauce, mine also turned out fine. I also only used 1 1/2 dried chilis and that was plenty. We served it in flour tortillas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I have been using a recipe almost identical to this one for 25 years ! I put a pork roast into my crock pot and add the sauce( without cooking first) and cook on low until the roast is tender but not falling apart. Add some cilantro-cook 15 min. more. Serve as a burrito filling, etc. Also excellent with scrambled eggs! I use fewer chilis, but I'm a wimp! First class recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
My whole family loved this recipe, including picky teenager! I left out the red hot peppers, so the "heat" was adjustable for everyone's taste by adding their own red pepper flakes. Next time I will try doubling the sauce recipe because it was good ladled over rice/black beans with cheese on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This is a great recipe. I served it in tortillas. The only down-side to this recipe is having to handle the sticky tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
WOW, This is a great recipe. I've made it twice, once for my boyfriend, and once for a dinner party. Everyone loved it, and I'm in southern New Mexico which means we know our mexican food. A native mexican from Sonora raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
My husband and I loved this recipe. Very easy to do and I followed recipe exactly. Taste great.. since we love super spicy food. Thanks Chriszee777!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Very good. Perhaps the easiest Mexican Dish you will ever make. I grill the pork first to give a little charcoal flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States