Carne Con Chilies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
WOW, This is a great recipe. I've made it twice, once for my boyfriend, and once for a dinner party. Everyone loved it, and I'm in southern New Mexico which means we know our mexican food. A native mexican from Sonora raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This is a great recipe. I served it in tortillas. The only down-side to this recipe is having to handle the sticky tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
My whole family loved this recipe, including picky teenager! I left out the red hot peppers, so the "heat" was adjustable for everyone's taste by adding their own red pepper flakes. Next time I will try doubling the sauce recipe because it was good ladled over rice/black beans with cheese on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I have been using a recipe almost identical to this one for 25 years ! I put a pork roast into my crock pot and add the sauce( without cooking first) and cook on low until the roast is tender but not falling apart. Add some cilantro-cook 15 min. more. Serve as a burrito filling, etc. Also excellent with scrambled eggs! I use fewer chilis, but I'm a wimp! First class recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
We tried this and thought is was awesome. My husband and I love spicy food and we ate this up. I followed another reviewers comment and didn't precook the sauce, mine also turned out fine. I also only used 1 1/2 dried chilis and that was plenty. We served it in flour tortillas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Pretty good. I don't think it was necessary to pre-cook the sauce. It came out fine straight from the food processor to the pan. I loved how quick this dish was. That's a plus. I didn't put in all the jalepeno's either... that would have been too hot. Overall pretty good! Thanks for the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Very easy and pretty quick. I used pork tenderloins cut up into medallions for the "chops";worked very well. This made about 1-1/4 cups of THICK and SPICY "chili sauce" (I only used 1 jalapeno and only 2 dried chilis) that would be great mixed in plain rice and beans. We opted to serve just with a salad with creamy dressing (to help put out the fire on our palettes) for a healthy,low-carb dinner. Was too spicy for most young children but, I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
This is just such an excellent recipe. I had some leftover smoked pork shoulder that I used insead of the pork chops and, being a homesick Texan, I had to add a couple more serranos and a handful of fresh cilantro, but that was. You must try this recipe. Thank you so much Chriszee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wainy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
Great recipe, but it is HOT! I used chipotles for the "dried red chilis." Ii you opt for this route, cut the number of chilis used by at least half. Also, remember to wear gloves when handling chilis -- my fingers burned for some time after cutting up the peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This is a great recipe. It is simple to make too. My husband really liked it. And if he did then it has to be good. Can't wait to try it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States