Carne Con Chilies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I followed the recipe and advice to cook this in a crockpot. The meat was delicious, but the sauce was very runny. I don't know what I did wrong. Also, some reviewers said this was sweet - my wasn't sweet and I'm not sure where the sweet taste could come from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I used chicken instead of pork and it turned out really good. I made tacos out of it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This recipe is excellent. I was asked to make it for my mother-in-law and it went over well. I am going to try it with chicken next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I found this to be a very good recipe but the previous chile con carne that I have had was RED and left your nose dripping with every bite (I know, ew)... So I added about6-7 more red chiles and an extra jalapeno, not seeded, and a chipotle pepper. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skizzit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This was delicious, and easy to make on a weeknight. I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of a fresh one. Also did not add the red peppers as we cannot handle too much spice. I think I will add some onion next time to the tomatillo mixture. Served over white rice with cilantro and black beans. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This was delicious! I took advice from some of the commenters and used the slow cooker on this one -- 1.5 hours on high and another 5-6 on low. I made a few substitutions with what I had on hand. I only had about 4 tomatillos so I substituted the rest with tomatoes and a roasted anaheim chili. I'm not a fan of seasoning salt, so I just left it out on this one. It was still great! The meat just fell apart in the slow cooker. I would definitely try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I put six pork chops in a slow cooker with the sauce and cooked for about six hours. The meat just fell apart and became a wonderful filler for tortillas. For the sauce I used one can of tomatillas, one jar of salsa verde, and one can of diced tomatoes as the base. Now a favorite in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This was really good! Slightly warm but that's how we like 'em. I may have used the wrong dried green chilis....the recipe said "green sauce" but when it all went in the blender, it turned a light red color. One tomato with all the tomatillos was not the cause of the color change, I don't think. Must have been the peppers. This would be good wrapped in flour tortillas or served over white rice. Kids dipped thier chips in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I agree that this was very easy, very good and in addition, authentic! Considering that everyone has a different palate, I didn't find this very spicy so next time may leave the Jalapenos seeded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I cooked lean, thick pork chops in the crock pot all day, using two jars of green salsa as my sauce base, since tomatillos-fresh or canned-are unavailable in my part of the world. I used the juice from almost 2 limes and close to two tomatoes. I included only one fresh jalapeno pepper within the sauce, but put out a jar of pickled, sliced jalapenos for people to use in the burrito bar I created from this WONDERFUL recipe. I ommitted the red peppers from the sauce, again making them available elsewhere, to allow diners to choose their own heat level. I separated the meat with a fork when done, mixing it with the sauce. The meat was very flavorful and oh so tender. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States