Carne con Chile Rojo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Simple and yummy! Made it with side of mash potatoes. The beef let out a lot of water and I thought it would steam and not cook right but it was just perfect. I put the sauce in as soon as the beef changed color (turned it around too). Three minutes after that it was all done. Oh, and I cooked the garlic with the sauce before putting in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This was excellent, it had an outstanding flavor to it and we all enjoyed it, I will certainly cut my meat a little smaller and consider simmering the sauce and meat in a crock pot to let everything simmer in together. I simmered the meat and sauce on low for an hour waiting for my husband to get home for dinner and it was great! This will make it into our dinner meal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Irwin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This recipe was easy and tasted great. I added chopped up potatoes to mine which made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This recipe is so yummy. I had been making carne con chile with slight differences, I tried this way though and I liked it a lot better. You serve it with refried beans, orange rice , slices of avocado to another side and warm flour tortillas and it is absolutely amazing !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dlopez754

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ninad
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I make it as is with the exception that I add an extra tomato because my family loves pouring the sauce over mexican rice. Here are my tips:1. Use carne de pulpa (or pulpa negra) you can find this at any mexican grocery store, it's better than flank for this recipe.2. I don't cook the meat all the way through before adding the sauce. Once you put the meat in the pan with the oil, cover it. This allows for the meats juices to be released, once I see the juice released I add the sauce, it really gives it extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Very good. My dad was known for his carne con chile. He will roast the chile de arbol peppers in a pan, then blend them and keep them on hand. I also added tomatoe sauce and alittle water/chicken stock at the end with some flour to ticken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmelita

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is a great recipe! I love it. I originally found this recipe because I was looking for beef recipes with less than 300 calories and this was on the list. To cut down on the calories even more...I used olive oil instead of the vegetable oil which is much better for you! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Toast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I took the idea from this recipe but changed a few things. I used a bag of dried Chile Colorado, poached it with the tomatoes and garlic cloves, added about a cup of water and blended it with a chicken boullin instead of tomato boullin. Then I added it to the chopped chuck and let it simmer for 15 minutes, it was AWESOME! I am now going to use this same adjusted recipe for sauce for enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseAg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I did this in a crock pot and came out very good! I just started cooking and this was easy. Next time I will add potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States