Carne Asada Steak Sandwich with Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I give this recipe a 5. It was absolutely delicious! The flavors of the meat, and the outrageous salsa was to die for. It wasn't spicy to me at all, I love spicy food. I did follow the recipe to the tee. I think next time I wouldn't add as much paprika, but what I cooked and what I ate was great. I substituted pepper jack cheese in place of the cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunellen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Green Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muh-Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Absolutely fabulous! Who would have thought a steak sandwich could taste so good? I cut the recipe down to 2 servings for about 1 & 1/4 lb. steak. For the marinade I basically cut all the seasonings down to 1 tsp. each and used smoked paprika vs. regular paprika and used minced garlic vs. garlic powder and added a little more olive oil. For the avocado salad I grilled some thick red onion slices along with a red pepper before combining it with the other ingredients to give it a smoky flavor. Definitely toast your roll first before piling everything on and dig in because you're in for a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Excellent!!! I never worked with flat iron steak before. This recipe was easy and delicious. Followed the recipe exactly...wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Followed exactly and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Amazing. However, I feel that you definitly need to scrape some of the rub off before you grill. It was super spicy. A new week nite dinner for the fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Amazing!!! things I did differently, I didnt marinate the meat so I put oil on the steak then drenched it in seasoning and cooked it on my grill pan on the stove. Toasted the bread in the toaster. came out fantastic!!! My only complaint is the avacado salad kept falling out so I had to keep putting it back on! Next time I'll cut the bread differently so it stays on! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Moretto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainsboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was so good, the avocado salad cools down the spicy meat. I marinated the meat overnight. We sliced thinly after grilling and used for fajitas. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Wow! That is some spicy stuff! First time I've ever made something with too much spice for my husband! If I do this again, I'm going to rinse some of the excess spice/paste off the meat before cooking it. I think the flavor will still be there. We ate this wrapped in tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I didn't make a sandwich but it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Shooter's Steak Sandwich

Layers of seared steak and sautéed mushrooms star in this pressed sandwich.

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States