Carne Adovada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2001
REALLY GOOD RECIPE!I added some green peppers and onion at the least bit of cooking.It was wonderful served over cheese enchiladas.As good as our favorite Mexican place.Also good with warm tortillas and mexican rice.Put it in the oven and forget it.Anyone think it would do well in a slow cooker? THANKS FOR THE RECIPE,MARI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
Delicious and very tender. Living in New Mexico and being used to spicy food, the second time I made this, I boosted the chile powder up to 6 tablespoons. To my family, it doesn't increase the heat, just the flavor. Also, 2 teaspoons of salt are just about right. Pork loin was on sale (and leaner than stew meat), so I used that instead. Most restaurants here make carne adovada too hot, but this recipe is just right. It's a family favorite (though there are never enough leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
I made this following the recipe exactly, except I couldn't find "New Mexico red chili" at the store and had to use regular red chili. My husband said it was his favorite thing that I have ever made in 8 years and that his Mexican grandma would love it - the ultimate compliment. Our friends thought it was awesome too. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
Fabulous! I haven't had this since I returned from New Mexico two years ago. I tried this in the crockpot using a pork butt roast with great results. Also took earlier suggestions and reduced the salt and used 4 heaping tablespoons of New Mexico Chile. By the way, if you have trouble finding New Mexico, it (and other New Mexican food)can be ordered over the internet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
Very good. I marinated the meat overnight and put it in my crock pot in the morning. When I got home from work, all I had to do was shread the beef and fix the toppings. I only used 1 tsp of salt and it was fine. I also used a beef roast instead of pork. It wasn't as tender as I had hoped, but it may have just been the cut of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This was an excellent recipe! I didn't change a thing! However, I would like a little more heat so next time I may add a little cayenne pepper. This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I live in New Mexico and have had many versions of Carne Adovada I do have my favorites from the Frontier and other small family owned restaurants and I must say I was very pleased with Delilahs Carne and will continue to prepare it.....I even used the same receipe for making the filling for my tamales......draining some of the liquid...they were a great hit.....thanks Delilah.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
OH SO EASY AND OH SO TASTY!!! EVERYONE TOOK HOME THE RECIPE. JUST SERVED IT IN FLOUR TORTILLA WITH SPANISH RICE FRIDAY AND THOSE SERVED WANT TO PREPARE IT TODAY SUNDAY FOR THEIR FAMILIES. STARTED IT IN THE CROCKPOT WHILE AT WORK AND FINISHED IT OFF IN THE OVEN FOR A CARMALIZED LOOK AND TEXTURE. WILL TRY IT NEXT WITH CHEESE ENCHILADAS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Very good! It disappeared quickly on X-mas Eve. I do suggest less salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This is really good.The meat was so tender. I also used less salt and regular chili powder. I served with tortillas and garnished with onions and cilantro. Finally a recipe the husband says is 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYG25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States